Posted in God's Lessons, Spiritual beliefs

Honor Part One

Honor blog post

 

 

I feel wholly unequipped to be writing this post. Why? Because I’m just learning myself. I don’t even have all the information on it. But God’s teaching and guiding always, and I want to honor Him.

So, what’s honor? What do we think of when we hear this word?

MUSHU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:

(Via Pinterest)

Hehe, yeah, that comes to mind for me. And ironically, before my family came upon this lesson of Honor and its importance, we had literally JUST watched “Mulan” and were discussing their emphasis and reliance on honor. Not really ironic, so much as timely. God does that a lot.

 

Okay, so back to the topic at hand. I’m just going to jump to it.

If we are children of God, He is our Father, and if He is our Father, we ought to want to bring Him honor. We honor Him. In everything. Or else we shame Him.

Honor is not the same as salvation. I want to say that right away.

And by the UTMOST graciousness and lovingness of our Father in Heaven, He has covered our shame – 100%. We’re born in shame. We need a Savior.

Some personal time: I lived out of a spirit of denial for a good part of my life. I didn’t want to face that some bad things have happened. Because it’s not fair. It’s injustice! I don’t want to be broken, dirty, shameful. Nope. None of us do. But you know what? This…wait for it….is a glorious place to be. Because you know what? Read these verses:

 

“And Jesus answering said unto them, They that are whole need not a physician; but they that are sick. I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.” Luke 5:31-32

If a person is “righteous” without Jesus, they don’t need a Savior do they?

So, if we’re broken, if we’re dirty, if Satan has stripped us of our honor, then…don’t we need a Savior? YES!! And how wonderful is that? We need One, but the good news is we do not have to sit in this place of need – we already have One!!!! He’s ALREADY covered our shame that we were born with (remember, we were “born and shapen in iniquity”), and has REDEEMED us. Wow. I feel so much passion at this. I feel like I am finally getting it. Yes, yes, I know the awe-ing message of the cross. I know its magnificence, what God has done. I have gloried in it. But. But now I’ve faced my shame, I’ve seen my need. Not just seen and ignored, but seen and desired something different. Desired to let go of injustices. They go to the cross. It’s already nailed there.

Jesus is all. Jesus is enough. What He did on that cross – that did it all! Do you hear me? Don’t forget this message. Don’t go on living without it. We were dirty. We were toyed with by Satan. But that is not the end of the story! Oh no, not at all! That is just the beginning. Because God sees everything  – time isn’t a thing to Him. He knew what Satan was going to from the very start, and He knows our wills. So Satan temps us, he defiles us in any way he can, he tried to strip us of that robe of righteousness. But God says “That’s okay. Because I’ve already provided a New Way. I’ve already created streams in the desert. Will you not see it? I’ve given My SON. His blood for yours. I have redeemed you, My peculiar – special – people. I have bought and paid for you. You are Mine. I have conquered death, Satan is a defeated foe. Believe Me, My Child. I have called you precious in My sight.”

Wow. Wow. Wow.

I may be getting off topic. That happens. And so you know what? I’m going to do a Part Two Post. Where I’ll get back to the message of Honor. Till then, readers. You are loved.

 

 

 

 

Author:

I am a peculiar treasure who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

5 thoughts on “Honor Part One

  1. Oh yes. Very timely. There was a quote in a book I read … “Coincidence is God’s way of remaining anonymous.” I like that a lot. :)

    Wow. Wow. Wow. I loved this post so much, Raechel. I can relate to this a lot – to not wanting to accept that I’m broken and dirty inside. I would think “I’m not as bad as HIM or HER so I’m okay”. But I’m not. But by God’s unfailing grace I am redeemed. (Dad’s sermon this morning was on grace. ;))
    And you know what?! That girl on the corner, that drug dealer, that kid called ‘worthless’ by the world… God. Loves. Them. Too. He redeemed them just as much as He redeemed me.
    And you thought you were off topic? ;) Thanks from sharing from your heart, Raechel!

    Hugs,
    Faith

    1. That is a good quote! :)
      I’m very glad, Faith! I love when things all come together in “coincidence” :)
      Amen. They are so loved too. His grace is amazing! For all of us. <3
      Thanks for sharing such a sweet comment, Faith!

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.