Posted in Books, cover reveal, Random babblings, reading, Up North

September 2017

Hello :)

Such an un-clever post title, I know. I’m not really feeling super creative at the moment though, so it’ll have to do. ;)

This post is going to be kinda full, and while you don’t have to read it all (I really don’t care if you don’t want to. Do what you want. XD), I DO recommend at least scrolling to the bottom where I am posting some exciting news!! Please do at least read that. :)

 

I hope everyone had a nice September! I love Fall so much. We had a week or two of really hot weather, but for the most part September was lovely weather, and October is proving to be thusly too. :)

We did some canning during the month, I continued to attend physical therapy for my ankle and it is doing very well. Almost back to normal. :) I still have to wear a brace, but I am successfully walking without crutches now!! Praise God. And I can go up and down stairs fairly well too, which is so nice. I’m just very thankful for how it’s progressing, and each week I get a bit better. :)

At the end of September, so just last weekend, my Mum, sister, and I went up north to visit my grandparents whom we hadn’t seen in quite a while. Poor Dad had to stay home to take care of all our animals, but we weren’t gone too long. And he gets to go up north more than we do. ;)

We had a very nice visit, and it was such a good time. The scenery was gorgeous – so many fall colors! And the weather was splendid. Chilly but nice. I did a ton of walking – and I do mean a ton – but it was good for me and my ankle seemed to handle it very well. I’d only use the crutches in the evening if I had to at all. It was just so nice to spend time up there with my grandparents, and enjoy the trip. Because of my ankle, I couldn’t do ALL the things I would normally do when we go up there (traverse rocky paths, rivers, etc.), but still enjoyed the views, and experiences, and the whole trip. God is good.

 

As for my month of reading….

 

 

Daring to Hope: Finding God's Goodness in the Broken and the Beautiful  Freedom's Ring  When Dimple Met Rishi  The Secret Life of Sarah Hollenbeck  A Record of My Vinyl: A Collector's Catalog  The Promise of a Letter (Amish Letter #2)  The Pretender: A Blackguard in Disguise  (The Caselli Family #1)

I LOVED “Daring to Hope” by Katie Davis Majors (you can click on the covers of each book to go to my reviews of them, if applicable), enjoyed “Freedom’s Ring” by Heidi Chiavaroli, started and skimmed “When Dimple Met Rishi” but stopped reading it because Dimple was very disrespective/rebellious, God’s name was taken in vain a lot, and there were other swear words, and so I just didn’t think it was worth my time. I really enjoyed “The Secret Life of Sarah Hollenbeck”, the “My Vinyl Record” notebook is splendid, “The Promise of a Letter” by Kathleen Fuller was an enjoyable read, and “The Pretender” I am still very much torn about. Review to come on the 9th.

 

I acquired numerous books as well, just like usual.  I won some fun books, and wish I had pictures, but I’m still not quite back to picture-taking ability. I’ll share the couple pictures I did take over the month though…

 

This was to feature the journal I received from Blogging for Books, and I just love how it looks. ^.^

And then this next picture…well, I’m aware there might be some snickers out there, but go ahead. Laugh if you’d like. I giggled like crazy upon receiving it, and I am not much of a giggler/fangirl. But this….

 

This is worth being excited about. The Best of Michael Nesmith Songbook. With some of our Monkees trading cards in the background. :)  So, why is this so exciting, you may ask? Well because 1. It’s Michael Nesmith. 2. It’s a songbook of some of his greatest songs. 3. Here’s the big one…it’s SIGNED TO ME!!!! By Mr. Nesmith himself. Wowza, huh? Definitely one of my best purchases ever. Ever.

Am I a little embarrassed by my “fangirling” over this? Maybe so, maybe so. But I’m okay with that. Because everyone’s gotta be allowed a little bit of fangirling. So what if it’s over a group/singer from the 1960’s? That’s okay.  I didn’t do a lot of squealing or fangirling in my teens. Guess it’s just catching up to me now. ;)

But really, the songs this book has…they’re some of my favourites. And having it signed to me feels pretty priceless.

 

Here’s a picture of some of my current review books:

 

 

 

I’ve already read and reviewed “The Secret Life of Sarah Hollenbeck” by Bethany Turner (so cute), and am almost done with “Lady Jayne Disappears” by Joanna Davidson Politano. I took that book up with me on our recent trip north, and got a lovely picture of it:

 

 

 

 

And before I go, I have some very, very exciting news!!!! If you’ve followed this blog long, you might recall the name MacKenzie Morganthal – she’s the author of the amazing book “Not Abandoned”.

 

 

Okay, so the exciting news is….The SEQUEL IS RELEASING SOON!!!!! I am SO thrilled. It’s been in the works for about 2 years, I believe, and it’s just so exciting. I’ve read this upcoming book twice now was I’ve pre-read and edited, but can hardly wait to read it a third time! It’s so good. Would you like to know what it’s called? What the cover looks like? When the release date is? I can share all that info right now!! Whoohoo!!

MacKenzie recently did a facebook-live to announce the news, and watching that was loads of fun. You can check that out on her page HERE, but for now, here is the sequel to “Not Abandoned”…….

 

…..

…..

 

……..

 

!!!!!”Out of the Dark” by MacKenzie Morganthal!!!!!

She has cleverly come up with the Series title, “Mission for Freedom”, which is so fitting and I love. So yes, “Out of the Dark”, book two in the Mission For Freedom” series, by MacKenzie Morganthal. This will be a three-book series, and waiting for the third book is already hard, and “Out of the Dark” hasn’t even released yet!! Oh, that reminds me…you’re probably curious about WHEN “Out of the Dark” releases! Drum roll…..

October 27th, 2017

Soon!! Yay!!

Which brings me to another thing…would any of you like to be apart of the blog tour she is putting together? I know she would really appreciate that, and I would do! Just like with “Not Abandoned”‘s release, my blog here will be hosting MacKenzie Morganthal for this new release too – it promises to be lots of fun. If you would like to be apart of the tour, and receive more information on that, please either comment here and I will pass along your contact info (privately) to her, or you can contact her yourself on her facebook, her website, or even her twitter.

 

You can also find out more about her upcoming book on her facebook. :)

 

I hope everyone has a great October!! And thanks for reading through this long post. ;)

 

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

4 thoughts on “September 2017

  1. Sounds like you had a fun month, Raechel! :D Glad your ankle is doing better!!
    Daring to Hope and Freedom’s Ring are on my TBR. As are Not Abandoned and Out of the Dark. Lovely covers. ^.^

  2. I love your record journal–its so perfect for you! :) I love your Michael Nesmith fangirling….you’re so cute. XD And his note to you was very fangirl worthy, I agree.
    Thank you for sharing about “Out of the Dark” and all your lovely words about it!! You’re the best! <3

    1. <3 Hehe, thanks Ken! XD And yes, I know – it is!!! Still so happy about it. XD
      Aw of course!! I love it and YOU!! And actually, remember, YOU'RE the best! <3

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

