Posted in Bethany House, Book reviews

Book Review: “The Promise of Dawn” by Lauraine Snelling

016

“The Promise of Dawn” by Lauraine Snelling

Book One in Under Northern Skies series

 

Review copy through Bethany House Publishers

My rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book: When Signe, her husband, Rune, and their three boys arrive in Minnesota from Norway to help a relative clear his land of lumber, they dream of owning their own farm and building a life in the New World. But Uncle Einar and Aunt Gird are hard, demanding people, and Signe and her family soon find themselves worked nearly to the bone in order to repay the cost of their voyage. At this rate, they will never have land or a life of their own.

Signe tries to trust God but struggles with anger and bitterness. She has left behind the only life she knew, and while it wasn’t an easy life, it wasn’t as hard as what she now faces. When a new addition to the family arrives, Signe begins to see how God has been watching over them throughout their ordeal. But after all that has happened, can she still believe in the promise of a bright future?

 

 

My Thoughts:

This was actually my first book that I’ve read by Lauraine Snelling.
The setting was what really drew me in – I love all things Norwegian, and living in MN myself, it seemed quite perfect for me! :) And indeed, I enjoyed the setting very much.
The names! They were probably my favourite thing about the book – I just loved them. So…Norwegian, and much like the viking names I love. “Signe, Rune, Bjorn, Knute, Leif…” etc. Just brilliant.
The beginning of the book was a bit hard for me to get into at first, but once I reached about the middle of it, it picked up and really held my attention.
Some parts seemed repetitive, more like a filler, but otherwise it was a well written story.
I thought it was impressive how you can go through a good chunk of the book just really disliking one character, but by the end you really actually started to truly love that character. That was great. :)
I was fond of this book, and am interested in reading the rest of the series as they come out. :)
Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

