Posted in Book reviews

Book Review: The Case of the Clobbered Cad by Debra E. Marvin

013

“The Case of the Clobbered Cad” by Debra E. Marvin

A Nosy Parkers Mystery

 

Review copy provided by the author

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

 

About the Book:   Inspired by the famous Girl Detective, the members of the Olentangy Heights Girls’ Detective Society, affectionately known as the Nosy Parkers, spent their formative years studying criminology, codes, and capers. Unfortunately, opportunities to put their unique skills to work were thin on the ground in the post-war boom of their little corner of suburbia and they eventually grew up to pursue more sensible careers. Until… Heather Munro’s youthful devotion to The Girl Detective led to a passion for digging around in history. Now pursuing her Master’s Degree in Celtic Studies, Heather must balance exploring Edinburgh with her determination to excel in her all–male classes at the University. Unfortunately, on her first night working in the Archives room, she discovers the dead body of a visiting professor, the same would-be lothario she’d hoped never to see again. As clues come to light, it’s clear someone hopes to frame Heather for the murder. Besides her quirky landlady, whom can she trust? How can she clear her name? The police and the American Consul have plenty of suspects, but only two seem to have both motive and opportunity: Heather and the quiet Scottish historian she longs to trust.

 

 

My Thoughts: 

Oh my word, this was such a delightful read! I was swept away the moment I started it. It was just charming! I know, how can a “murder mystery” be charming, right? But just read “The Case of the Clobbered Cad” yourself and find out!
This book has a darling cover, and a fantastic setting. 1956 Scotland – yes please! Main character, Heather Munro, is American spending time in Scotland as she studies. But she doesn’t find time for boredom – right off starts her in the midst of a murder, and a mysterious one at that, with her being a possible suspect – yikes!
Very well-written and captivating, with very pleasant characters. And I didn’t guess the murder till the end, which is always more enjoyable, to be kept in a bit of suspense. :)
I’ve enjoyed each story I’ve read by Debra, but this might just be my favourite. I already would like to read it again.
CCC was a clean book, with a couple mentions of faith. It wasn’t the main point of this novel, but the book was still extremely enjoyable, and I appreciated the few mentions of prayer and the Lord. :)
If you enjoy mystery novels, or BBC mysteries, or really just a great read, be sure to pick up a copy of “The Case of The Clobbered Cad”!

 

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Case of the Clobbered Cad by Debra E. Marvin

  1. This sounds like such a cute book! I’ll have to check it out :) I love your Toothless posing with the book! I still have that little toothless I got you…I haven’t forgot about it, you will get him soon. XD <3

    1. It certainly was excellent! I think you’d like it indeed! :) Hehe, thanks! I’m going to start doing that with every review book, if I can. :) Aw, you’re so sweet! I forgot about that. XD Take your mind! <3

  2. It will probably be a few weeks before I read & review this, but I couldn’t resist reading just a little bit after downloading, and can already tell that it’s going to be good. I love British settings and am hooked on BBC mysteries & drama like you mentioned. I appreciate your thoughts, Raechel.

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

