Posted in Book reviews

“High as the Heavens” by Kate Breslin ~ Book Review

(Click on book cover image to go to its amazon page)

 

“High as the Heavens” by Kate Breslin

Review copy from publisher/author

My Rating:  5 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

In 1917, Evelyn Marche is just one of many women who has been widowed by the war. A British nurse trapped in German-occupied Brussels, she spends her days working at a hospital and her nights as a waitress in her aunt and uncle’s café. Eve also has a carefully guarded secret keeping her in constant danger: She’s a spy working for a Belgian resistance group in league with the British Secret Service.

When a British plane crashes in Brussels Park, Eve is the first to reach the downed plane and is shocked to discover she recognizes the badly injured pilot. British RFC Captain Simon Forrester is now a prisoner of war, and Eve knows he could be shot as a spy at any time. She risks her own life to hide him from the Germans, but as the danger mounts and the secrets between them grow, their chance of survival looks grim. And even if they do make it out alive, the truth of what lies between them may be more than any love can overcome.

 

My Thoughts:

Such a beautiful book!  
I really enjoyed this book – the plot line was fantastic, and there were twists I didn’t even see coming! You will be embarking on quite the adventure when you read “High as the Heavens”. I’ve read my fair share of WWII fiction, but not too many of WWI, and the books I’ve read by Kate Breslin set in this time period have been exemplary.
The characters are beautifully crafted, and relatable. I loved Eve in this book, as well as Simon! So good. Maddie was also a favourite character. :)
The pain and trials the characters go through are heart-achingly realistic and you so feel for them. And I really enjoyed reading the rawness of Eve’s struggles with guilt and shame, and eventually accepting God’s mercy. I think her struggles were really well written especially, and I could definitely relate.
One thing I wasn’t quite as sure on was the possible factor of ‘working for forgiveness/grace’ – I don’t believe we can work for God’s forgiveness or His mercy or grace – those are freely given from Him. This piece of the book was small, and maybe that’s not even what it was saying. But yes, that’s my thoughts on it.
I have several places marked in this book – truly, I bonded with Eve and felt some of the same struggles as she did, so the truths she received hit me as well.
And just the authentic feeling of this book – wow. So gorgeous. It’s definitely one I would read again. It was heartbreaking (because so many of the atrocities are not just “fiction” – they really happened, and oh my goodness. I cried a bit.), but with so much beauty. If you love WWI or WWII fiction with amazing characters and a fantastic plotline, definitely check this book out! Well worth the read. <3
002

 

FamsSunset chaser (1)Sunset chaser

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

5 thoughts on ““High as the Heavens” by Kate Breslin ~ Book Review

  1. I’m looking forward to reading this one now – I enjoyed Kate Breslin’s debut novel, but I haven’t read anything else by her yet. Your review makes me want to find a copy of this one! :-)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

