Posted in Book reviews

“Dreams and Devotion” by Sarah Holman ~Book Review

(Click on image to go to its amazon page)

“Dreams and Devotion” by Sarah Holman

Book Four in the Tales of Taelis Series

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

 

About the Book:

Some dreams will be dashed, and their devotion will be tested.

Dara’s life is full of farm work and worries, especially now that her older brother is a priest in a far off city. Yet she still has time to dream of the life she hopes will someday be. She dreams of marrying her dear friend and the worries of her family ending. Now, the selfishness of one person threatens her very way of life.

Dresden’s initial excitement about living a life devoted to the service of God quickly is dashed on the rocks of reality. The life of a priest is nothing like what he imagined. To make matters worse, he finds out his family back in his home village is on the brink of disaster. Torn between his vows and his love for his family, what will he choose?

 

 

My Thoughts:

 

This book left me just a bit speechless! The lessons were so relevant to me and what my family and I have been learning that it touched me deeply. 
This was a book filled with real struggles, and yet learning that “God works all things together for good to those who love God and are called according to His purpose.” Nothing is unknown to Him and He will work all things for our good. Beautiful lesson.
I was just really impressed with this one. I know I say that with all of the Tales of Taelis series, but I mean it. These books are just grand. I wish I had them all in paperback form to underline and stickynote my favourite spots, and to share them with my younger sister. 
These books aren’t just incredibly enjoyable, they are meaningful. 
I think “Dreams and Devotions” may be my favourite of the Tales so far. It isn’t really your typical story where everything goes how you want it to go or even just how you expect a story should pan out. The even greater aspect is trusting God when things don’t go the way you dreamed or planned. And learning to love others – even those who have hurt you deeply – was a significant lesson.
I really appreciated the ending. I won’t spoil it for you, readers, but know that it is excellent. Oh what a story! And as usual, Miss Holman’s author note at the end is extremely touching. Beautiful reminder and encouragement.

 

 

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

