Posted in Bethany House, Book reviews

Book Review: “Wings of the Wind” by Connilyn Cosette

february (1)

 

Wings of the Wind by Connilyn Cossette (Purchase HERE)

Book Three in the Out of Egypt Series

Review copy from Bethany House Program

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

Alanah, a Canaanite, is no stranger to fighting and survival. When her family is killed in battle with the Hebrews, she disguises herself and sneaks onto the battlefield to avenge her family. The one thing she never counted on was surviving.

Tobiah, a Hebrew warrior, is shocked to find an unconscious, wounded woman among the Canaanite casualties. Compelled to bring her to a Hebrew healer back at their camp, he is soon confronted with a truth he can’t ignore: the only way to protect this enemy is to marry her.

Unused to being weak and vulnerable, Alanah submits to the marriage–for now. As she comes to know and respect Tobiah and his people, however, she begins to second-guess her plans of escape. But when her past has painfully unanticipated consequences, the tentative peace she’s found with Tobiah, the Hebrews, and Yahweh is shaken to the core. Can Alanah’s fierce heart and strength withstand the ensuing threats to her life and all she’s come to love?

 

 

My Thoughts:

 

This was such a beautiful book! Truly. I wasn’t sure if I’d completely bond with the main character, Alanah, because from the backcover blurb, she didn’t sound like a typical character I’d love, but I was wrong, and this book was marvelous and I enjoyed it ever so much!
It stunned me in its plotline. And the characters. This series has been so good, and I’m sad to see it end, but excited for the next series by this author!
Alanah was a fiery character to be sure, but relatable. And Tobiah! Oh. Wow. His sacrificial and continuing love for her was just heart-melting. A great mirror to Christ’s love for us. It really impacted me, and helped remind me of our Heavenly Father’s persistence in pursuing us in the most loving way. He doesn’t push, but He pursues.
A midwife was introduced in the beginning of the book, as a healer (read it to find out why!), and the whole time I was doing this: “Is that…? That has to be…? Is it? It’s got to be Shira! Please let it be Shira!” – because I don’t know about you, but I love having characters from past books in the series show up in the next one even if it’s not directly about them.  And I loved Shira. :)
The midwife’s character was so perfect for this story. Her gentleness but firmness with Alanah was great.
The characters really were marvelous. I loved Nita from the beginning. <3 And the sand cats. That was an amazing touch that I loved ever so much. I love cats. ^.^
The storyline was captivating.
And the sometimes-painful-journeys we go on with Alanah, and what she had to endure! So sad. But I absolutely loved to see how it was all wrapped up and how God had a purpose in ALL of it. That is so true in our own lives – there are times where we go through horrible things that we can’t see any point of – all we see is the pain. That’s probably all Alanah saw too. But God had a plan, just as He does for us! He’ll bring us out of our own Jericho’s, He’ll bring us Healing, in His time. Nothing goes unnoticed by Him – He’s got us in the palm of His hand, even in seemingly hopeless situations.
The lessons learned by each character were fantastic, and Tobiah’s reminder that “you are not God” – that was brilliant and hits home. We can’t protect everyone all the time, despite our good intentions – we are not God. But HE is, and He is more than capable. Beautiful.
So yes, as you can see, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. God used it to touch my heart, and that always guarantees a book to be a winner in my eyes! :)
Have you read the series? Which if of the books was your favourite, if so? Counted with the Stars, Shadow of the Storm, or Wings of the Wind? They’re all so good, not sure I could pick a favourite. Shadow of the Storm has a special place for me, but now so does WOTW, and Counted with the Stars was utterly lovely too. So, I don’t know. ^.^
Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

4 thoughts on “Book Review: “Wings of the Wind” by Connilyn Cosette

  1. I haven’t read much Biblical fiction…okay, I’ve read hardly any. :P But I’ve heard so much good about this series that I really want to read them!! And those covers… *swoon* Lovely review, Rae! :D

    1. Hehe, that’s how I am with some other genres, so no worries! :D I love BF. And yes, this series is great, and I agree that the covers are stunning! Thanks so much, Faith! :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

