Posted in Book reviews

Book Review: The Destiny of One by Sarah Holman

The Destiny of One (The Destiny Trilogy Book 1) by [Holman, Sarah]

The Destiny of One by Sarah Holman

Christian Sci-fi

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

Destiny ā€“ it’s a word that plagues Maria Morris. What does God want her to do with her life? Should she go to college or does God have other plans for her? When her parents go missing during a business trip, Maria embarks on a quest that will change her life forever. Trying to fight against an overbearing Milky Way Government, Maria travels to earth in search of a lost prince and some crown jewels. Her faith is tested, however, when a new law is passed. Will Maria be able to find her parents and the crown jewels before it’s too late? Is she strong enough to stand up for her faith even if it means never seeing her family again? Most of all, will Maria discover her true Destiny?

 

My Thoughts:

I’ve had this series waiting on my Kindle for a while, and now that I’ve read the first one, I don’t know what took me so long to start it! Generally I don’t read a lot of sci-fi type books, but this was excellent! Maria was a great and very real character, and it was all written extremely well. And goodness did I love the message of waiting and trusting God for His plan in our lives – that was just fantastic. So often we’re told we need to have our lives figured out by 18 years old, which in my opinion is so not old enough to know what we want to do, but in “The Destiny of One” Maria doesn’t know where God wants her, and the best thing? Her whole family supports her in waiting on God to show her. That was a breath of fresh air to me. It doesn’t matter how long the wait may be, it’ll be worth it to follow God’s chosen path for us!
Each character was really well-constructed, and I’m really looking forward to continuing the series. And seeing more of Quint…turned out being quite fond of him. Not right of the bat, but pretty soon after. ^.^
If you feel that you’re being pressured to choose your life’s path, read this book and be encouraged. While it may be fiction, it has a great message!

 

 

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Destiny of One by Sarah Holman

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

