Posted in Book reviews

Book Review: Saguaro Sunset by Debra Marvin

Saguaro Sunset (American State Flower novella Book 32) by [Marvin, Debra E.]

“Saguaro Sunsent” by Debra E. Marvin

I won a copy from the author

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

No ice cream sandwich is as sweet as a long-delayed sunset kiss.

Friday night’s first phone call was the answer to Teresa Scott’s career dreams. Before she can celebrate, a second call informs her of her sister’s accident and puts Teresa in ‘the driver’s seat’ of Frosty Fingers Food Truck during the Tucson Festival of Books. Determined to keep her sister’s business out of the red, Teresa hides the painful disappointment of giving up her dream.

Fellow accountant Alan Davis sticks his do-gooder nose in, hanging around to help Teresa, the woman he’s adored since forever, not knowing the coveted board position he’s just accepted is the one she had to give up.

Nice Guy Alan isn’t really Teresa’s type, but she’s won over by his humor, adorable smile, and ice cream scooping skills. As his presence become irreplaceable, she sheds the hardened layers of her heart. Just when it’s clear she needs him in her life, Alan has to face his biggest regret and honor an old promise. Will losing this chivalrous knight in a snowman costume break Teresa’s vulnerable heart?

My Thoughts:

I can count on finding a good novella when it’s written by Debra Marvin. I’ve read three of hers so far, and have enjoyed each one. Usually, I’m a novel kind of gal, but I enjoy novella’s for a break – and Debra writes some good ones. :)
This was her first contemporary, and she handled it fantastically in my opinion!
The setting was unique – I don’t think I’ve ever read a book where the character runs (or in this case, helps run) an ice cream food truck! I found that a great setting – one to stand out. And the characters were each well-constructed and you got to know them even in a ‘short’ amount of time of a novella.
I enjoyed the splash of faith too.
There was one scene towards the end that was a bit more…passionate (just kissing) than I usually read, but otherwise, I didn’t skim any of the book – it was a good, sweet read, one I enjoyed. :)

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

