Posted in Book reviews, Booklook Review

BookLook Review: “Written in Love” by Kathleen Fuller

 

Written in Love by Kathleen Fuller

An Amish Letters Novel.

BookLook Review Copy

My Rating: 4.5 of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

When a postal error creates pen pals of two young Amish people, can they put behind their past mistakes to see the bright future God has written for them?

Jalon Chupp has a past he isn’t proud to claim. He’s worked hard to overcome his youthful mistakes, and he has recommitted himself to his faith. When he receives a sweet note included in a piece of misdirected mail, he can’t help but write back. Soon, the letters he receives from Phoebe are the highlights of his days, and with a hopeful heart, he suggests they meet in person.

Phoebe, too, looks forward to every single one of Jalon’s letters. Living with her overbearing aunt, Phoebe doesn’t have too much to look forward to. But when Jalon suggests they meet, she panics—although she has shared some of the deepest longings of her heart with him, she hasn’t been entirely truthful about her past. But when Jalon shows up at her aunt’s doorstep, everything is revealed. And she can only pray he’ll forgive her for holding back the truth.

In order to reach beyond the errors of their pasts, both Phoebe and Jalon must put their faith in something—or Someone—bigger than either of them could pen.

 

My Thoughts:

The idea of a book about letters immediately caught my attention – I love letter-writing. :)
This was an incredibly sweet story. And actually my first Amish fiction. The genre isn’t really my taste, but this book surprised me. It was really good – the story was really good.
I just loved how it started out with letters written between the two characters. There were pages of them, and I so loved that! And even when it melted into third-person telling, it was still captivating. I wanted to know what was going to happen between the two characters and their backstories.
It was a sweet love-story. And not without trials, either! There were several bumps and misunderstandings, making it real.
Even though I wasn’t extremely like the main character, I could still connect with her, and that made the reading all the more enjoyable.
All in all, it was a very sweet romance story. Clean, yet with realistic problems and lessons, some Faith-filled hope, and great characters. :)
I’m hoping to read the next book in this series when it comes out. :)

 

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

One thought on “BookLook Review: “Written in Love” by Kathleen Fuller

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

