Posted in Bethany House, Book reviews

Bethany House Review: “Treasured Grace” by Tracie Peterson

 

“Treasured Grace” by Tracie Peterson

Book One in the Heart of the Frontier Series

Bethany House Review Program Review Copy

My Rating: 2.5 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

Grace Martindale has known more than her share of hardship. After her parents died, raising her two younger sisters became her responsibility. A hasty marriage to a minister who is heading to the untamed West seemed like an opportunity for a fresh start, but a cholera outbreak along the wagon trail has left Grace a widow in a very precarious position.

Having learned natural remedies and midwifery from her mother, Grace seeks an opportunity to use her skills for the benefit of others. So when she and her sisters arrive at the Whitman mission in “Oregon Country,” she decides to stay rather than push on.

With the help of Alex Armistead, a French-American fur trapper, Grace begins to provide care for her neighbors, including some of the native populace. But not everyone welcomes her skills–or her presence–and soon Grace finds herself and those she loves in more danger than she imagined possible.

 

 

My Thoughts:

I was looking forward to reading this book, but it wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, actually. On the review-email it gave the description that the main characters were a midwife and a trapper  – and to me, that sounds very good, so I requested it. And while Alex was indeed a trapper, Grace wasn’t a midwife – she was a healer, which maybe they would’ve been called midwives back then, but there was nothing that even mentioned her being called a midwife or any midwifery duties…
But anyway, after I figured that out, I tried to get into the book, and it was a fine read. For me it was just that – a good read, not terrible, but not fantastic either. Pretty light.
Personally, I didn’t feel I could really connect with any of the characters much, and there wasn’t huge depth to the story. It was also a case of instant affection between characters, but not fully carried out till the end.
There was the incident in the middle that was fairly intense and a tiny bit gruesome, and while it was awful, it did help you connect a little bit with two of the side characters.
This book, I felt, was more of ‘tell rather than show’ – you didn’t get to really be involved in the characters or relate to them. You just read what happened to them.
Now, as I say this, I also want to repeat that it wasn’t an awful book – it was clean, and there was a slight sharing of the message of Salvation, albeit not a strong one. For me personally, I wouldn’t mark it as a favourite, but many may love it.

 

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

One thought on “Bethany House Review: “Treasured Grace” by Tracie Peterson

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

