Posted in Book reviews, Tessa Afshar

Book Review: “Bread of Angels” by Tessa Afshar

I just loved this book so much! Can’t wait till it’s released and can be enjoyed by all! Below is my review. :)

 

 

“Bread of Angels” by Tessa Afshar

Biblical Fiction, Releases June 6th, 2017

Review copy from the author/Tyndale Publishers (Launch Team!)

My rating: 5 out of of 5 Stars

 

Book Description:

Purple. The foundation of an influential trade in a Roman world dominated by men. One woman rises up to take the reins of success in an incredible journey of courage, grit, and friendship. And along the way, she changes the world.

But before she was Lydia, the seller of purple, she was simply a merchant’s daughter who loved three things: her father, her ancestral home, and making dye. Then unbearable betrayal robs her of nearly everything.

With only her father’s secret formulas left, Lydia flees to Philippi and struggles to establish her business on her own. Determination and serendipitous acquaintances―along with her father’s precious dye―help her become one of the city’s preeminent merchants. But fear lingers in every shadow, until Lydia meets the apostle Paul and hears his message of hope, becoming his first European convert. Still, Lydia can’t outrun her secrets forever, and when past and present collide, she must either stand firm and trust in her fledgling faith or succumb to the fear that has ruled her life.

 

 

My Thoughts:

 

What a beautiful book, inside and out! But what else would one expect from a Tessa Afshar book? Truly, her books astound me and I love spending time in each one.
“Bread of Angels” provides a very touching and impacting story of Lydia the seller of purple. I so enjoyed following her life-journey, through trials and joys. And “meeting” Paul! That was really good.
I was just incredibly impressed and touched my this book. The lesson of trust – the symbolism of the Bread of Angels, manna, and relying on God for everything. That really hit me. Needless to say, I have many, many marks in this book to revisit and cherish. :)
Lydia was such a real character. I identified with her struggle against fear and the anxiety that brings. And to see the Truth of Jesus and what He’s done for us heal her was beautiful, knowing that He can perform that healing in all of us. What I love about a Tessa Afshar book is the deep truths of Jesus woven so care-fully throughout the story, the absolute love for Him and glories to Him shines from the books.
I find these books healing – God uses them in my life and I am very thankful. To Him be the glory!
“There is never so much sorrow in a life that it should become devoid of hope. Hope may grow fragile as a thread of silk; it may get stuck inside a box of misfortunes. But it is there. Don’t misplace your hope, my sweet child, not even when all of Pandora’s monsters chase you.” Chapter 21
“He does not always keep us from danger, but He preserves us in danger.  I have known hardship, but my heart has felt secure in His steadfast love.” Chapter 24
“I see where this story is headed/ God wanted the people to trust Him for their daily needs. Trust Him to provide for them not just once but continuously.” Chapter 28
“There is nothing in the world so damaged that it cannot be repaired by the hand of almighty God.” Chapter 45
Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Bread of Angels” by Tessa Afshar

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

