Posted in Uncategorized

6 Years?!

This is a rather impromptu post…I realized the other day that I had forgotten to prepare a “January Wrap-Up” post. Ooops! There’s been a sickness bug floating around though, so I blame that (no, I didn’t come down with it, but other family members did).

But anyway, I was going to work on said wrap-up post when WordPress informs me that I’ve been blogging here for SIX years! Happy six anniversary to me. XD Once again, I was not prepared for this….one would think I would know that this day was coming, and would have some planned out celebratory post to share, with fun graphics, links, and confetti. But, erm, nope. Dat’s not my style, apparently.

What made me start blogging in the first place, you might ask? Well, technically me first bloggeroo was started on that good ol’ site once known as Homeschool Blogger (which is no longer in existence). That (and Webkinz…let’s be honest here) was actually my first introduction to the wonders (and peril?!) of the Internet. I do have fond memories of HSB – I met my first penpal there; I was 11 years old. ^.^ (She and I are still friends, which is cool). And then came along…..JibeNow. A social-media site for, you guessed it, homeschoolers. A friend on HSB had recruited me to this new, incredible site. I loved it – it was super fun, great, and…enjoyable. This was about 6-7 years ago now. I met peoples on JN (some whom I got to meet in person, no less), made some memories, and then….it shut down! After only a few months of me being on it. *cries* ‘Twas sad, I tell you. Maybe for the best, since I spent way too much time on there, but that is neither here nor there right now. Back to the whole blogging thing – so when I joined JibeNow, I switched my blog over to that site. And when that closed, WordPress became my new domain. Ta-da.

 

And now, 6 years later, I am still blogging. Under the same blog name, God’s Peculiar Treasure Rae. Because that is what I am – a Peculiar Treasure to God. That’s what we all are. I think I am definitely on the Peculiar side, so it fits. :) I love the Bible verse behind it. It’s in Exodus – go look it up. :D

I honestly cringe to return to some of my first blog posts. Looking back at my 14-16 year old self is not the most pleasant experience. Haha. ^.^

 

Soooo….that’s about all I’ve got for a special 6-year Blog Anniversary Post.  I guess I could sum up January while I’m here, huh?

January. Umm…I read a lot? Around 9 books.  Got some books too:

 

picture0202171009_1

“The World of The Vikings”

“The Flaming Sword” by Heather FitzGerald (such a gorgeous cover it has!!)

“Almost Like Being in Love” by Beth K. Vogt

“Princess Ever After” by Rachel Hauck

“Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana” by Melanie Dobson

“Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas” by Janice Hanna

“Outlining Your Novel” by K.M. Weiland

 

I think I only purchased 4 of them…from the library booksale. So, that’s nice. :)

 

As for what I read…

“Love Me Tender” by Janice Hanna

“Operation Space Cats” by Lesa McKee

“A Basket of Flowers” by Christoph Van Schmid

“Why Not?” A novella by Debra E. Marvin

“Destiny Defied”, “Destiny Delivered”, and “Destiny Defended” by J.A. Marx

and then I read some of a book, but skimmed some and didn’t finish it because of inappropriate content.

 

And just today I finished reading this book called “Everything’s Coming Up, Josey” by Susan May Warren (a MN author! Cooooool.), that I had picked up from the library just because. And oh my word, I loved it! It was SO cute, and so relatable. I just majorly bonded with the main character, Josey. Even to her height. XD Super good. And super witty. ^.^

 

Anyway, I know this isn’t much of a wrap up post, or a celebration one, but I must be off. Toodle-pip!! Here’s to another who-knows-how-many-years of blogging!

 

 

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

6 thoughts on “6 Years?!

  1. Yay, happy 6 year anniversary!! :D how exciting! Also, it is so funny you got that Love Finds you in Liberty, Indiana book, because just yesterday I found it at the store and showed Bella because it looked like one she’d really like, but she ended up getting a different book instead. XD I got Love Finds you in Prince Edward Island, Canada :D they were only 1.99! Anyway, congrats again on your 6 year blogging milestone!! <3

    1. Thankee, Ken!! :) Oh really? That is funny! I used to be hooked on the Love Finds You books (at one point I owned upwards of 30 of them!), but then I sold them to get my sword (priorities…XD), but I always regretted getting rid of the Liberty, Indiana one because I loved it, so I was thrilled to find it again at the booksale! I love good finds! I haven’t read the Prince Edward Island one – that sounds good! You’ll have to tell me what you think of it when you read it!! :D <3

    1. Thanks! It sure does. Hmm…I think so, yes. I think I had more time to blog back then, but also I think I have more wisdom in what to post now opposed to when I was a young teenager. ^.^ Thanks for commenting, Marrok!

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

