Posted in Books, Uncategorized

2016 Book Recap Tag

Hello! Faith tagged me for the 2016 Bookish Recap Tag (click on the image below to go to her post!), and so I am here to fulfill this tag! Fun, fun, fun!

 

 

 

Rules. 
— Include the above button in your post.
— Answer the 11 questions.
— Use as many book covers as you like. (The correct answer to this question would be ALOT. B-))
— Tag 5-10 people and notify them that they have been tagged.
>> Questions. 
 
// How many books did you read in 2016? (Exact if you know, or approximate if not.) 
63 I think.
// Did you set a reading challenge for yourself and, if so, did you meet it?  
I did set a goal – I had originally set it for 75, but then in about October or November, I could see that wasn’t looking good, so I re-set it for 60. Which I did meet. :D
// What was your most read genre this year? Least read? 
Oooh, golly…I have to think about this one…The most was either historical or contempory fiction. Least read was…nonfiction – that can be a genre, right?! ;)
// What’s five of your favorite books from 2016? 
I did a post on this on the 31st (here), but I shall reitterate:
Family Lies Deadly Ties by J.A. Marx Land of Silence by Tessa Afshar Forest Child by Heather Day Gilbert
The Cautious Maiden by Dawn Crandall Light of the Last by Chuck Black
“Family Lies, Deadly Ties” by J.A. Marx, “Land of Silence” by Tessa Afshar, “Forest Child” by Heather Day Gilbert, “The Cautious Maiden” by Dawn Crandall, and “Light of the Last” by Chuck Black. All amazing!!
// What’s five of your least favorite books from 2016? 
Okay, um…let’s see…
A Daring Sacrifice by Jody Hedlund The Prophetess by Jill Eileen Smith Risen by Angela Elwell Hunt
The Fiercest Fight by Brent King A Time to Die by Nadine Brandes
“A Daring Sacrifice” by Jody Hedlund (didn’t finish because of inappropriate content), “The Prophetess” by Jill Eileen Smith (skimmed the end half), “Risen” by Angela Hunt (didn’t finish because again, inappropriate content), “The Fiercest Fight” by Brent King (wasn’t my kind of book. Creepy.) “A Time to Die” by Nadine Brandes (Okay, let me say something before I’m labasted by this choice…it was goodish, but I had some issues with it personally). And yeah, these least favourites were least favourites for me personally. May not be for others.
// What new favorite author did you discover? (Not necessarily that the author is ‘new’, but that they became new to you this year.)   Dawn Crandall! I loved “The Cautious Maiden” so much, and was really impressed with her writing!
// What’s five of your favorite book covers from the year? 
How about I show you?
The Flaming Sword by Heather L.L. FitzGeraldCourageous by Dina L. SleimanLand of Silence by Tessa Afshar
Austen in Austin, Volume 1 by Susanne  DietzeKeep Holding On by Melissa TaggForest Child by Heather Day Gilbert
(You just realised I chose 6 instead of 5. Yeah. I broke a rule – sorry! Couldn’t decide which to leave out, so I didn’t. XD)
// How many books did you purchase for yourself in 2016? (Exact if you know, approximate if not.) Oh my goodness, I don’t even know…maybe somewhere between 50-70?? Maybe more, or less. I really don’t know. XD Thriftstores are my friends, so I find quite a few there….and I got some as gifts/review copies…so yeah, I don’t know.
// What’s the longest book you read in 2016? “Watch Over Me” by Christa Parrish at 515 pages.
Watch Over Me by Christa Parrish
// What’s the shortest book you read in 2016? “Last Wish” by Valerie Howard at 15 pages.
Last Wish by Valerie   Howard
// What’s your reading goal for 2017? 70 books is my goal. But to be honest, I’m really hoping to read 100. But…we’ll see!
And so there is the tag! And I’m afraid I’m going to break another rule and not tag anyone specific. Because let’s face it…I don’t know a lot of people to tag. So, if you’re reading this and you want to be tagged: You’re It!
I do make an awesome hermit.:
(via Pinterest)
Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

4 thoughts on “2016 Book Recap Tag

    1. Yeah, I suppose it is – I see everyone else reading so many more books, but you’re right that 63 is still a lot. Maybe too many… ;) Thanks for commenting, Marrok!

  1. Thank you so much for doing the tag, Raechel! Really enjoyed reading your answers. :D Of the books I’ve mentioned, I’ve only read Last Wish. So sad. <3 "Family Lies, Deadly Ties" sounds amazing! I really want to read that one and some of Melissa Tagg's books this year. :D

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

