Posted in Uncategorized

Blogging for Books: Simply Calligraphy by Judy Detrick

Simply Calligraphy: A Beginner's Guide to Elegant Lettering by [Detrick, Judy]

“Simply Calligraphy” by Judy Detrick

Source: Blogging for Books

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

Learning the simple and beautiful art of hand-lettered calligraphy is as easy as picking up pen and paper!

Italic is the calligraphy’s most popular alphabet, and this delightful manual introduces basic capital and small letters and numbers, plus all the creative flourishes you need to customize your unique script for every project and occasion.

With quick and easy instruction from calligraphy teacher and designer Judy Detrick, Simply Calligraphy will have you whipping up elegant invitations, pleasing place cards, and personalized thank-you notes in no time.

Includes practice exercises, advice on tools and materials, and project ideas for place cards, invitations, and more!

 

My Thoughts:

The cover of this instructional book is very eye-pleasing, I shall say right off. I love the colours. ^.^
This book is well-put together, and easy to understand. It helped me know right where/how to hold the pen, which I appreciated. :) Seems like a simple thing, but I hadn’t previously been holding it correctly, and therefore it wasn’t working quite as smoothly as it could.
My only complaint about this book is that it was hard to keep open so that I could go through the steps.  Mine was a soft cover, I’m not sure if they make a hard cover – it would certainly make it easier to hold the book open while you practice the steps.
Otherwise, the content of the book is good for learning calligraphy, especially for beginners!
*I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publishers through Blogging for Books.

 

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

