Posted in Uncategorized

Tyndale Book Review: “Land of Silence” by Tessa Afshar

 

“Land of Silence” by Tessa Afshar

Biblical Fiction

Source: Tyndale Review Program

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

Before Christ called her daughter . . .

Before she stole healing by touching the hem of his garment . . .

Elianna is a young girl crushed by guilt. After her only brother is killed while in her care, Elianna tries to earn forgiveness by working for her father’s textile trade and caring for her family. When another tragedy places Elianna in sole charge of the business, her talent for design brings enormous success, but never the absolution she longs for. As her world unravels, she breaks off her betrothal to the only man she will ever love. Then illness strikes, isolating Elianna from everyone, stripping everything she has left.

No physician can cure her. No end is in sight. Until she hears whispers of a man whose mere touch can heal. After so many years of suffering and disappointment, is it possible that one man could redeem the wounds of body . . . and soul?

 

My Thoughts:

I love Tessa Afshar’s books. They are always so amazing and profound. Truly, nobody writes Biblical Fiction as she does.
This one was…oh wow. The beginning half tore me up (so emotional!) but the ending really put me back together again. It was utterly beautiful.  This is the background story of Elianna, the woman with the blood issue in the Bible. Tessa Afshar wrote it so spectacularily and so real, and it was just so heart-rending. Oh I just loved it so much!
Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful. That is how I would describe this book. And so sad!!! But good. So good.
And the truths in this book are amazing!! Tessa Afshar’s books always touch my heart, and this was no exception. You should see all the marks in my copy. :)
And her portrayal of Jesus was handled with such care and delicacy, and lovingly. Though He didn’t appear in this book till more towards the end, it was impacting, and it really showed His loving character, full of compassion. Truly the Jesus of the Bible.
I don’t even know where I’d start in sharing the quotes I marked down. There were so many.
But here are just a couple:
{The context is a character asking why she can’t serve/worship both God and the Roman’s gods} “Why have you forsaken all other men in order to be with Titus? Because he is your husband, and your heart and your body belong to him. You need no other man. He loves you, and he alone fulfills your needs. It is the same with the Lord, only more so, for He is a thousand times more loving, more protective, more glorious,, more powerful than our wonderful husband. He would not put up with you chasing after other gods any more than Titus would accept you taking lovers.”
“Sometimes the evidence of our senses and the testimony of the world’s wisdom are plain wrong. Sometimes the Lord is busy forging victory when the mind expects only defeat.”
“You are weary, my children. You are languishing. I want you to understand that the Lord’s heart rises up to you in a special way, for His intention is to satisfy you. He may yet restore to you the years the locusts have eaten. Do not give in to despair, but trust the Lord with all your heart. Do not lean on your own understanding.”
“God’s Spirit can ride a puny breeze as well as a hurricane. My prayer was feeble and fearful. But I offered it with an honest desire to please God. I prayed out of obedience rather than mighty faith or conviction. He seemed not to care about my insufficiency, for in spite of my weakness, He showed me great mercy that day.”
I loved this book, just as I have loved each book by Tessa Afshar. She never disappoints and that is by her God-given talent. :) His glory is definitely shown in her writing!
Recommended age group: 16+
*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.
Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

4 thoughts on “Tyndale Book Review: “Land of Silence” by Tessa Afshar

    1. Yes, I love that too! I really appreciate her writings – they’re always written in grace, like yours. So beautiful! Thanks for commenting, Alicia!

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

