Posted in Bethany House, Book reviews

Bethany House Book Review: “Risen” by Angela Hunt

 

(READERS: DON’T FORGET TO CHECK OUT THE “MIRIAM SCAVENGER HUNT” IN THE POST BEFORE THIS ONE :) )

Risen: The Novelization of the Major Motion Picture

(Image via goodreads.com and description of book take from Amazon.com)

“Risen” by Angela Hunt, The Novelization of the major motion picture.

Based on the story by Paul Aiello and Screenplay by Kevin Reynolds and Paul Aiello

Review copy source: Bethany House

My rating: 2 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

 

Epic in scope, yet deeply personal, this novelization offers a unique perspective on the story of the resurrection. Roman Tribune Clavius is assigned by Pilate to keep the radical followers of the recently executed Yeshua from stealing the body and inciting revolution. When the body goes missing despite his precautions, Clavius must hunt it down.

His investigation leads him from the halls of Herod Antipas to the Garden of Gethsemane and brings him in touch with believer and doubter alike. But as the body still remains missing, Clavius commits to a quest for the truth–and answers that will not only shake his life but echo throughout all of history.

My Thoughts:

I’m giving this two stars to give it the benefit of the doubt, otherwise I might give it less. I did not finish it because I was very disappointed in the immorality displayed by the 7th chapter already. It was inappropriate and should not be in Christian fiction, let alone Biblical Fiction. Various ages read Biblical fiction and having “sex-scenes” is beyond not okay. I did finish Angela Hunt’s previous book (“Bathsheba”), so I know firsthand the sex-scenes that she has written into that book, which lends to my decision not to finish this book. In other words, I know from reading previous content by the author that this would undoubtedly prove to continue the same way. When I requested this book for review, I was first unaware that it was by this author, and when I realised it was by her, I had hoped that since it has been an acclaimed movie, that it would be a bit cleaner.
The rest of the book may have been good, but I cannot condone such things in what is supposed to be a Godly book. I want a clean read, and so that is what I will spend my time on.
It bothers me that there are so many such scenes in Christian fiction, because it is numbing the minds of the reader to make it seem ‘okay’ to have sex out of wedlock. Nothing is Holy anymore, and that is very grievous to me.

I’ve heard that the movie doesn’t contain the immoral element, so I may watch that at some point, but I won’t be finishing the book, and cannot rightly recommend it either.

 
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publishers in exchange for my honest review which I have given.

 

 

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

9 thoughts on “Bethany House Book Review: “Risen” by Angela Hunt

  1. That is so discouraging when there are ‘those things’ in Christian fiction. It’s Biblically wrong. We’ve said it’s okay longer enough! But no one cares, no one wants to stand up for what is right. No young people care about purity these days. It really saddens me and I’ve given it a lot of thought. I found out a few months ago that a girl I used to know is 17 and pregnant. I’m just like, really Ashley? It’s sad.

    Anyway, I’ve blew up your comment box enough. :P Thanks for standing up for what you believe, Raechel!!

    1. It really is! And everything you said is so true, and it greatly saddens me too. :( I know several people that has happened to as well. =( The world we live in is grievous indeed!
      Thank you so very much for your comment, Faith – I am so encouraged by your passion!

  2. I know some people who have seen the movie and they said it was excellent. I’m not sure if we’ll see it or not, but I know I won’t be trying the book! Thanks for the review. :)

    1. I’ve heard that too – and I do hope the movie is indeed good and get’s people thinking. Jesus’ resurrection is important! Thanks for your comment, Jesseca!

  3. I have seen the movie and didn’t find it quite too bloody, though there were a few scenes that were border line. The biggest problem I have with it, it that it actually ignores why Jesus had to die. It does explain that his resurrection brings eternal life to those who believe, but the theology is a little lacking. I wouldn’t expect better from a Hollywood movie though.

    1. Oh really? Well that’s good. But sad fact about them ignoring why Jesus had to die. I suppose it doesn’t surprise me, because yes, it is a Hollywood movie, but sad still.
      Thank you for your comment Anna Brie! :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

