Posted in God's Lessons, Spiritual beliefs

Guys: Strong AND Gentle?

I know I am no expert on guys by any means. I do not claim to be. But I have come to notice some things. And my question of observation today is:

Where is the middle ground?

I’ve seen many men who are either at one extreme or the other. Which extremes are these, you ask? Well the extremes of being TOO gentle or not gentle enough. From what I have observed, either guys think they have to be ALL tough and show no gentleness of heart, or on the other side, they are perhaps too “in touch with their emotions”. Now, let me say that I am NOT saying that men should not show any emotion – not so! But showing emotions and being…”girly” are two different things. I would like to see men with a middle ground. One being strong, while still gentle. A man who is willing to cry when his heart is pricked, one who has a heart for the Lord, but one who also is strong of heart and can lead and simply be a man. To quote Minnie from “Larkrise to Candleford” – “Men are better when they’re men, aren’t they, Ma’am?” ^.^

I see guys who act more like girls in their show of excitement over things and get all “fangirl-y” and are often into…weird, girly things, like My Little Pony for example. And of course they can enjoy things just as girls can, but in a guy-like manner. Guys can sometimes seem more feminine than manly, and that saddens me because the Lord has called them to great things. He created men and woman so uniquely, and I want us to act like that. Let women be women and men be men.

And then I’ve also seen guys who are so closed off to anything that would be near to a soft heart, and I don’t agree with that either. We must have mold-able hearts for God to work with. A heart that is open to God, open to His leading, and strong in God’s guidance. Gentleness doesn’t have to mean weak. In fact it means the opposite. God’s gentleness makes us strong!

“Thou hast also given me the shield of Thy salvation: and Thy right hand hath holden me up, and Thy gentleness hath made me great.” Psalm 18:35

It is by God’s gentleness that makes us great, and I think gentleness is an important trait in all of us – even men. I don’t think that means men have to be ‘soppy’. Middleground, people, middle ground.

So, if there are any guys reading this, my message is this: Be who God has created you to be. Be a man of courage, of strength, of His gentleness. Be a man. :)

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

11 thoughts on “Guys: Strong AND Gentle?

  1. I really like this post, Raechel. Men have sadly been emasculated by both society and (sadly) women. I think it’s also going to take some effort on the part of women to stop the emasculating cycle by giving them their balls back and praise their manhood whenever we have opportunity (meaning, not trying to “nag away” what we don’t like.

    J.A.

    1. Amen – I completely agree that we women need to do our part as well. That is just as important. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, Mrs.Marx!

  2. Wonderful post, Raechel! I have to agree.
    I also have to say that I am happy to know several guys (including my brothers) who I think have managed to find that middle ground (or, at least, they’ve come quite close). And it’s just so great to see that, especially since it’s so sadly lacking in society in general. :)

  3. Great post Raechel! Totally true in how guys think that they have to be one or the other. It’s good that they can hear encouragement like this.

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

