Posted in Blogging For Books, Book reviews, Chuck Black

Blogging for Books review: “Light of the Last” by Chuck Black

“Light of the Last” by Chuck Black

Book #3 in The Wars of the Realm Series (I believe it is also the final book?)

Review source: Blogging for Books

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

To Fight What Others Can’t You Must See What Others Don’t

After an accident left him temporarily blind, Drew Carter didn’t just regain his sight. He now sees what others can’t imagine–an entire spiritual realm of mighty beings at war.
 
Forget the gift, Drew just wants his life back. Part of that involves Sydney Carlyle, a woman he is inexplicably drawn to. When he’s offered the chance to become a CIA agent, it seems the way to redeem his past. The only problem–his visions of the supernatural realm are increasing in frequency.
 
It’s up to the warrior angel Validus and his hand-picked team of heavenly agents to protect the unbelieving Drew. Validus now knows that the young man is at the epicenter of a global spiritual war, and the angels must use a millennia of battle experience keep Drew alive, for the Fallen want him dead.
 
Surrounded by spiritual warriors and targeted by demons, Drew’s faced with an impossible decision that will forever alter the destiny of America…and his own soul.

 

My Thoughts:

Oh wow! How do I even begin to review this amazing book?! I loved it. So much so. Truly fantastic. I am a HUGE fan of Chuck Black and have been eagerly awaiting this third (and I believe, final?) book in The Wars of the Realm series – it’s finally here!! And SO worth the wait. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole thing, and the plot was so extensive and amazingly crafted. That is some serious God-given talent Mr.Black has!
Okay yeah, can I say what an extensive plot-line this book has, and the series as a whole? I was so impressed. Just about every story-thread was brought to completion and wrapped up so nicely. There was ONE story line I so badly want to continue though….I won’t say which for fear of spoiling it for you readers. But yes, another book series for two specific characters would be pretty…epic.
I really liked how it entwined both character-point-of-views of Drew Carter, and Validus. Both were engaging and equally exciting and enthralling.
And I just love how it’s about Spiritual Warfare. So amazing, and such a great, necessary reminder. Wow.
The technology shown in this book was incredible too. :) Amazing all the way around.
This book was just SO big! And I don’t mean in size. It just blows me away.
Usually I am fairly adept at writing helpful reviews, but when it comes to Chuck Black’s books….I love them too much to form a coherent sentence! I just want to shout at everyone “Read these books!!!!” :)
I appreciate how Mr.Black states in the beginning that “this is speculative fiction and it’s not intended to confuse or diminish the truth of God’s holy and inspired Word.” He does an excellent job depicting what the Bible does tell us and how he interprets what the Bible is silent on.
The one and only thing I had a different thought on was that sometimes the angels seemed more ‘angry’ than fierce as the Bible says they are, and that it sometimes portrayed that there aren’t enough angels to do spiritual battle for us, and I believe that God does provide enough. However, this wasn’t negative, nor did it affect my love for these books. Just a personal thought. And of course, as Chuck Black says himself: only God knows the whole story!! :)
The characters were so great, and I loved returning to them. Sydney is an amazing young woman and I hope I can be as much of a prayer warrior as she is (even though she’s fiction! :D).
So yes, absolutely amazing and I loved it soooo very much!!! I cannot wait to read this whole series over again.
~~~~~
I received a complimentary copy from the publishers and Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review which I have given.
Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

2 thoughts on “Blogging for Books review: “Light of the Last” by Chuck Black

  1. Love your review Rae! Though you made me curious, what plot do you wish he had expounded on more?
    (also, I messaged you on the Jorum about something I think you’ll like)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

