Posted in Book reviews

Book Review: “Austen in Austin: Volume 1” by Various Authors

 

Volume 1 Full

“Austen in Austin: Volume 1” by  Susanne Dietze, Anita Mae Draper, Debra E. Marvin, and Gina Welborn.

Review copy source: Author/Publishers

My rating: 4 out of 5 Stars (Three out of four novels I’d give somewhere between 3.5/4 stars and the last one I’d give a full 5 :)

 

About the Book:

Four Texas-Set Novellas Based on Jane Austen’s Novels

Discover four heroines in historical Austin, TX, as they find love–Jane Austen style. Volume 1 includes:

“If I Loved You Less” by Gina Welborn, based on Emma
A prideful matchmaker examines her own heart when her protégé falls for the wrong suitor.

“Romantic Refinements” by Anita Mae Draper, based on Sense and Sensibility
A misguided academy graduate spends the summer falling in love . . . twice.

“One Word from You” by Susanne Dietze, based on Pride and Prejudice
A down-on-her-luck journalist finds the story of her dreams, but her prejudice may cost her true love . . . and her career.

“Alarmingly Charming” by Debra E. Marvin, based on Northanger Abbey
A timid gothic dime-novel enthusiast tries to solve the mystery of a haunted cemetery and, even more shocking, why two equally charming suitors compete for her attentions.

Four more exciting novellas will follow in volume 2!

 

My Thoughts:

This is a pretty fun collection. :) Each novella followed the plot of each of Jane Austen’s books well, and still with their own unique-ness intertwined. “Emma”, “Sense and Sensibility”, “Pride and Prejudice” and “Northanger Abbey” were all a part of this collection.
Each of these authors were new to me, but they all did an excellent job! Each story was beautifully written and had great characters. I don’t think I had any real complaints for any of them.  I enjoyed some over others, but that was solely personal preference. :)
The retelling of “Northanger Abbey” was by far my favourite. That tale was extremely entertaining and I just loved the whole thing! I really ‘bonded’ with Kathryn and fell in love with the hero. :)
The Sense and Sensibility one was my second favourite; though it was only Marrianne’s half of the story, it was very good and had quite a strong strand of faith through out it. And Brandon was a great character! Very easy to picture each of the characters and the story flowed nicely.
“Pride and Prejudice”‘s retelling was quite good as well, and fans of P&P and a very southern feel will definitely love this one. :)
The “Emma” retelling was entertaining and frustrating at the same time. ^.^ I’ve never been a huge fan of “Emma” in general so this wasn’t my favourite of the collection, but it was still well written and enjoyable!
As I said, each of the authors did an excellent job, and wrote captivating tales, each with a bit of depth to them.
A very nice collection and I’m looking forward to Volume two!
I received a complimentary ecopy of this collection from the authors/publishers in exchange for my honest review which I have given.
Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

9 thoughts on “Book Review: “Austen in Austin: Volume 1” by Various Authors

  1. It’s so nice to have a well written review, especially a favorable one! Thanks so much, Raechel. I really do appreciate the time it takes, and reviews are so important for an author. 😁

  2. Thanks for reviewing, Raechel!! I’ve been DYING to get my hands on a copy. I LOVE Austin. I LOVE Austin retellings. I LOVE the south. Lol Dear me, I think I need a cup of tea… ;)
    Any idea who I could talk to about possibly reviewing this one?

    1. When I found out about it, I was excited too! It definitely is a lovely set!! Hehe :) Susanne Dietze is the one who sent me my copy, and I just emailed her asking if she was the one for you to talk to, so I shall let you know! :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

