Posted in blog tour, Book reviews

Book Review + New Release: “The Tethered World” by Heather FitzGerald

11794045_10153426426927279_2893412556065622865_o

Today I am reviewing the book pictured above, “The Tethered World” by Heather L.L. FitzGerald. The cover is breath-taking, isn’t it? I’m really in love with it. :) Today is also the release of this book, so please, do check it out and buy yourself a copy!

So, here is my review, and make sure you stick around because at the bottom of this post, there’s a cool map from the book!

 

“The Tethered World” by Heather L.L. FitzGerald

fantasy

Review copy from the author

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

“Normal” means different things to different people. For sixteen-year-old Sadie Larcen, family dynamics look a little different than most. Parents with oddball occupations? Normal. Five homeschooled siblings—one with autism? Normal.

Police knocking on the door and parents gone missing? Definitely not normal!

When Sadie uncovers the reasons behind her parents’ disappearance and the truth about her heritage, she despairs of ever feeling normal again. Especially when she learns that her mother’s interest in Bigfoot, Dwarves, and other lore extends beyond her popular blog. Sadie’s family has been entrusted with keeping the secrets of the Tethered World—home to creatures that once roamed the Garden of Eden.

Sadie and her siblings must venture into this land to rescue their parents. Stepping out of reality and into a world she never knew existed is a journey Sadie fears and resents. But she chooses to risk all to save her family.

She’s just not sure she will survive in the process

 

My Thoughts:

This was quite an adventure! Truly, that is a great word to describe this book. It pulls you in and doesn’t let go till the end. And even then you’re left wanting more (do we really have to wait so long for the next book?! ;))
I was exceedingly delighted and impressed by the author’s writing skill. Her style is so captivating – the entire thing was just written so marvelously! And the story itself was enthralling.
To be honest, I wasn’t sure what I’d think at first. And while I’m still not certain how it compares to reality, as a fantasy fiction piece, it blew me away. I love the characters, every one of them were so well written, well-rounded, and easy to love (except the Trolls. I didn’t like them. Okay, one I loved, but that was it). Favourite character? Hard choice…I really like Sadie, and can I say how much I absolutely adored Xander??? I really, really hope that he’s in the future books :D the dragon, Odyssey was also a favourite :) And Brock and Brady, and even Sophie grew on me, though at first she was irritating. ;)
I have a couple of reserves for this book, the main thing being the fairies and elves and the magic they used. It didn’t come across menacingly but I do not agree with magic and fairies/elves or feel comfortable with them, so that is the only reserve I had for this book.
Otherwise, I really fell in love with it. This is a book I will remember for a good, long time. :) So clever and just fantastic!
I think it will do very well out there in the book world!
I found this one better than LotR, in my opinion. :) And I really appreciate how often the Lord was woven into this book – no hiding or disguising Him which again, I appreciated!

I am very thankful I had the opportunity to read this book, and am delighted to be one of Heather’s Avengers! :)

*I received a complimentary ecopy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review which I have given.

 

IMG_3546

 

About the Author:

 

IMG_8077

 

Heather L.L. FitzGerald lives in Texas with four someones that call her mom and one special someone that calls her his wife. She homeschooled her children–one of whom is autistic–and teaches ballet at a fine arts school in Forth Worth. Heather is a member of the North Texas Christian Writers, and helps to facilitate the Manet writer’s group in Fort Worth, Texas. She loves drinking ice lattes, cloud watching, and getting lost in a good book.
You can connect with Heather on her website/blog,  Facebook, Pinterest: (Belongs to her main character, Sadie), Character blog: (Sadies mom has a blog about legendary creatures.), Twitter, Instagram, Goodreads.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

3 thoughts on “Book Review + New Release: “The Tethered World” by Heather FitzGerald

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

