Posted in blog tour, Book reviews, Books, Reviews

Book Review: “All Our Empty Places” by Alicia G. Ruggieri

So the book I am about to review is a very special one! It’s the newest release of Alicia’s and it is a truly beautiful masterpiece! The release date is September 29th, and there’s a blog tour scheduled for the days up ahead. You’ll see another post from me regarding this lovely book with more information on its release and giveaway! But for now, here is my review…

 

“All Our Empty Places” by Alicia G. Ruggieri

Book Two in A Time of Grace Trilogy ( Book one – “The Fragrance of Geraniums”)

Review copy source: The author

My rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

The sequel to THE FRAGRANCE OF GERANIUMS (A Time of Grace, Book One)

In 1935, when the bank calls in her mortgage, Sarah Picoletti – now a penniless widow – finds herself and her children on the brink of homelessness. Sick at heart, she plans to beg her brother in New Jersey to take her family in.

Then Doctor Samuel Giorgi knocks on her door. Godly and well-off, Sam seems to have put the careless ways of his youth behind him, and he also appears to have one desire: to make Sarah his wife, two decades after he broke their engagement.

However, nothing prepares Sarah for the storm that breaks once she makes her decision. Everywhere she turns, the errors of her former choices confront her, insisting on her inferiority and the irreparable brokenness of her past. Sarah begins to wonder if Christ really can bring true redemption or if He is limited by her frailty.

Meanwhile, her daughter Grace faces new challenges in her own life. When her relationship with Paulie changes unexpectedly, Grace realizes that she must make a decision with the potential to alter both of their futures.

Compassionate and intensely poignant, All Our Empty Places paints the portrait of a mother and daughter with broken pasts, who dare to step into a future overflowing with the grace of the Cross.

My Thoughts:

Oh my, what a terrifically splendid book this is! I truly loved it. It was beautiful, and heart-rending. In a good way, mind you. :)

I just loved it. I loved the characters – being reunited with them after finishing “The Fragrance of Geraniums” was absolutely delightful. Alicia Ruggieri writes in such a realistic way that you can’t help but think of the characters as real people. They have real beauty and real struggles. They are, in full, delightful. When beginning “All Our Empty Places”, I was of course, overjoyed, but also curious to see how I’d like it since it focused more on Sarah, the mother. As a young adult, I relate best with Grace, but I couldn’t have been any more thrilled with watching Sarah’s journey than I was while reading this book! What I loved was how it was a struggle – it was gritty. Sarah didn’t experience a ‘everything is all better now that I know Christ’ transformation – it was so much more than that. Of course her life WAS better having Christ as her Savior, but there are still bumps along the road. We are all so broken. And I LOVE the verse used in the end: “And He said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.” – 2 Corinthians 12:9

The overall theme of this book – that God is our sufficiency – was astounding and deeply touching. Just the morning that I finished reading “All Our Empty Places”, I read the verse that says we are complete in Christ – I thought it resounded beautifully with this book. By ourselves, we are nothing but shattered pieces. But with Christ, we are beautiful pieces of art – even in our brokenness. He takes our brokenness and makes us beautiful. <3

And don’t even get me started on Grace and Paulie!!! Book Three cannot come soon enough for me. :) Watching their relationship shift and grow was spectacular, and the result in the end…I won’t give anything away, but let me tell you it was…wow! So God-filled. He is our focus. It gave me shivers. And tears. There were plenty of real tears while reading this lovely book. :)

I don’t have any complaints for this book…there were some rather frustrating parts (haha!) but they added the depth and circumstances that was necessary, same with some tense scenes. And as a whole, the book was all the better for each instance.

The two books in this lovely series (as well as Alicia’s “House of Mercy”) sit in my heart so dearly. They always minister to me, and bless me especially in the way that they are all for God’s glory. I encourage everyone to check out her books – you won’t be left feeling empty! :)

 

*I received a complimentary ecopy of this book in exchange for my honest review which I have given.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

5 thoughts on “Book Review: “All Our Empty Places” by Alicia G. Ruggieri

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

