Posted in Bethany House, Book reviews, Books, Reviews, Spiritual beliefs

“Not by Sight” by Kate Breslin

(click image above to go directly to Amazon to see this book)

“Not by Sight” by Kate Breslin

WWI Fiction

Review copy source: Author and publishers

My rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

 

About the Book:

With Britain caught up in WWI, Jack Benningham, heir to the Earl of Stonebrooke, has declared himself a conscientious objector. Instead, he secretly works for the Crown by tracking down German spies on British soil, his wild reputation and society status serving as a foolproof cover.

Blinded by patriotism and concern for her brother on the front lines, wealthy suffragette Grace Mabry will do whatever it takes to assist her country’s cause. When she sneaks into a posh London masquerade ball to hand out white feathers of cowardice, she never imagines the chain of events she’ll set off when she hands a feather to Jack.

And neither of them could anticipate the extent of the danger and betrayal that follows them–or the faith they’ll need to maintain hope.

My Thoughts:

I really, really loved Kate Breslin’s first book, “For Such a Time” – it was so excellent – so I was excited by this new release of hers and absolutely delighted when I was chosen to be part of her influencer team – it’s been immensely enjoyable!!

The book cover is gorgeous – it really is an eye-grabber (hehe, that sounds slightly on the creepy side; how about ‘attention-grabber’?) and I love all the colours blending together. It represents the novel beautifully.

While “For Such a Time” will remain my favourite between Mrs. Breslin’s two books, I must say I did enjoy “Not By Sight”. The tale was gripping, and the characters delightfully flawed, each with their own secrets, as one character, Lucy, said in the book. It’s true – we all have some kind of pain in our lives. But God can take our brokenness and create a master piece!

It took me a little while to really relate with main character Grace Mabry. Especially since it started out by her handing out the white feathers of cowardness…but as the book got going, and we got to really know her more, I did begin to really enjoy her character. And Jack’s I liked nearly right away. :) I think the romance between the two was really sweet, and I loved the banter between them. I think the romance was nicely done in this book, though one concern I had about it was the fact that between the two of them, especially for Grace, there wasn’t a problem or even wariness that Jack himself was not a strong believer in Christ. And I think that should be very important to believers – we are not to be unequally yoked together, so it is very important that we don’t simply give into the lust of the flesh and cast aside the care of faith. This is not to say the characters were completely casting aside their faith – Grace showed some faith and did genuinely desire for Jack to be saved too, but it wasn’t in the deciding factor of their relationship, which saddened me. I don’t want girls out there to think that matter isn’t important. :)

On the topic of a faith strand, there was one present, which was nice. For me, personally, I would have liked it to be stronger and imperatively evident. I didn’t necessarily see that. Sometimes it seems like it was added as a side thought, but there were deeper aspects to it, and the characters grew through out the book which is always excellent!

My favourite part was definitely the relationship between Grace and Jack! I loved it and enjoyed it. Kind of like a ‘beauty and the beast’ story, which is always lovely!!

Mrs. Breslin writes exceptionally well, and the history she entwines throughout the story is marvelous! Very real, and helpfully depicted.

My sincere thanks, Mrs. Breslin, and Bethany House for providing me with a complimentary copy of this splendid book.

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

