Posted in Book reviews, Booklook Review, Spiritual beliefs

BookLook Book Review: “The Good, the Bad and the Grace of God” by Jep and Jessica Robertson

 

 

The Good, the Bad, and the Grace of God - Jep Robertson, the youngest son of Duck Commander Phil Robertson, and his wife, Jessica, open up about their personal trials, their early years together, and the challenges that might have destroyed them both had the grace of God not intervened.

 

“The Good, the Bad, and the Grace of God” by Jep and Jessica Robertson with Susy Flory

Non-fiction

Review copy Source: BookLook Bloggers

My rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

About the book:

A Moving Story of Redemption and Second Chances
 

Jep Robertson, the youngest son of Duck Commander Phil Robertson, and his wife, Jessica, open up about their personal trials, their early years together, and the challenges that might have destroyed them both had the grace of God not intervened. Jep describes being molested as a child and his reluctance to tell anyone until only a few years ago, his downward spiral into drug and alcohol abuse, and the eventual intervention of his family. Jessica shares about the difficult failure of her first marriage while still a teenager and the hurt that came along with it, much of it from the church. Her insecurities spun out of control as she wondered whether she would ever be good enough or pretty enough. This book is their love story but, more importantly, their love story for God.

“We are desperate to let people know that no matter what you’ve done; no matter what you’ve lived through, you can come out of it.  You can be washed clean.  You are redeemed.”

 

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book – more than I thought I would, actually. Being that my family and myself are Duck Dynasty fans, I was interested when I saw this book up for review – and knowing that my parents would want to read it as much as I would, I didn’t hesitate to request it.

It was so interesting to get a glimpse into the trials Jep and Jessica faced through out their lives – together and apart. Their faith in God, and their dedication to each other is inspiring.

There are times where we get frustrated with some of the aspects of the show, because whether it is their choosing, or the producers of the show choosing, they don’t always portray what Christians should, but I thought that the book was quite different from the T.V. show and they gave all the glory to God. I personally found it much easier to understand and relate to at least Jep and Jessica knowing what they’ve been through and how they feel about their faith. It’s encouraging for sure.

This is an easy read – I normally don’t choose to read non-fiction/biography type books, but this one I just sailed through with great interest. I would recommend for older teens and up, to read this book because of some of the subject matter.

I must say, I was saying several ‘awws’ when reading about Jep and Jessica’s love story. It truly is a sweet one. :)

It’s inspiring, because they talked a lot about redemption. You can have a horrible past, but when you come to Christ, He redeems you and you are cleansed as white as snow – forever. And, as they talk about, sometimes the church will make judgments, which of course they shouldn’t but Jep and Jessica didn’t accept and take on those judgments as their own – they saw it for what it was: broken people making bad decisions. They knew that God’s opinion mattered more than man’s opinion and I like that.

 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publishers in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

