Posted in Author Interview, Books, Writing

Author Interview: Featuring Faith Blum

Displaying AG Blog Tour Graphic2.jpg

 

Hello!

Today we’ve got an author review! How exciting is that? Author, and friend, Faith Blum has graciously answered my questions and now I get to share them with you as part of her blog tour celebrating her newest book, “Amazing Grace”! Following the interview, below you will also find info about the book, the author, where to add it on GoodReads, and the other stops on this blog tour, so without further ado, enjoy!

 

 

  • First of all, welcome to my blog, Faith! I’m delighted to have you here! Would you like to introduce yourself a bit?

Thanks, Raechel! I’m excited to be here! I’d love to. I’m a twenty-something stay at home daughter. I recently resigned from my day job so I can write full time. I love to write, read, play piano, and do pretty much anything crafty.

That’s very exciting that you’ll be writing full time! I hope that goes really well for you. :)

  • For how long have you been writing and what first spurred you on to write?

I’ve been writing since I was about ten, maybe even earlier. I don’t really remember. I loved writing stories whether it was about our family camping trip or something made up.

  • Your books are all related to Hymns – how did you come to decide that? And do you have a favourite hymn you’d like to share?

When I was editing the first book in my series, A Mighty Fortress, I noticed that the hymn was quoted and/or sung quite often in the book and the title for that book was born. After that, when I decided to make it into a series, I decided to name the series “Hymns of the West” and weave the hymn into the story however it works best. My favorite hymn. That is hard. I think I would say “Lily of the Valley” right now, but that’s probably just because that’s the book I’m working on at the moment. ☺

  • How long did it take you to write your newest “Hymns of the West” book, “Amazing Grace”?

Good question. I started it in the summer of 2014 and published it in April 2015. I don’t remember exactly when I started actually writing it, but the actual writing (not counting editing) probably took me about four months, the least amount of time thus far. Editing took longer, of course.

That’s nice. And yes, editing does take a while, doesn’t it?!

  • Do you have a favourite character from it that you relate to most?

I really like Rachel. She’s only ten, but she has so much personality, it was fun writing her scenes. I don’t really relate to her that much because we are so different, but it was still a really fun experience to write her story.

  • You self-published: did you experience any troubles going that route, or are you entirely happy with it?

The hardest part about being independently published is the marketing, but I have recently found out that even if you are traditionally published, you have to do your own marketing now. So I am entirely happy with being independently published. This way I can control exactly what the cover looks like, what goes inside the book, and everything else. I don’t necessarily always like control, but when it’s the story God gives me to write, I don’t want anyone else except Him and me messing with it.

Oh really? Good to know! And I completely agree with you regarding not wanting anyone else in charge but God and you!

  • What are your writing plans for the future?

In the near future, I have three novellas I plan to publish this summer that are very slightly related to Amazing Grace. I will be doing a cover reveal for the novellas on my blog on Thursday. Lord willing, I will also publish book four, Lily of the Valley this fall.

After that, I have at least three more novels planned in the Hymns of the West series and a very tentative plan to write a contemporary fiction trilogy, eventually. There are also a few other stories I have floating around that I would like to polish and publish someday, including a retelling of the Beauty and the Beast fairy tale set in the time of King Solomon.

I guess my writing plans for the future are just to write the stories God wants me to write and publish them when they are ready. I hope that answers your question. Thanks again for having me today!

Great answers, Faith! I really enjoyed this, and I hope you did too, readers! Thanks for coming, Faith, and congrats on your book release! :)

 

Displaying AG.PNG (click on the book to go directly to Amazon and purchase it!)

 

About the Book

 

Caleb hurried to the post office. He had to get in and out before his sister finished at the general store. “Any mail for the Stuarts?” he asked the postmaster.

The postmaster took a lazy look at him over the top of his eyeglasses and gave a heaving sigh as he turned around to check. “Yep. Somethin’ from Ohio and somethin’ from Montana.”

Tapping his foot, Caleb waited until the large man put the letters lazily in his hand. As he left he wondered why Anna had written someone in Montana and who she knew in Montana. It was really none of his business, but he was still curious. He folded the Ohio letter in half and stashed it in his back pocket. It would get wrinkled, but at least Anna wouldn’t know about it.

As Caleb struggles through some inner battles, he secretly starts a correspondence with a widow and her daughter. Their unabashed faith in God convicts him and increases his inner struggles.

Unable to find a steady job, Maggie places an advertisement to become a mail-order bride. Her daughter, Rachel, is her motivation and encouragement, but if Maggie doesn’t find a job or husband soon, Rachel might not survive through the next year.

Can Caleb learn to trust God despite his past? Can Maggie and Rachel hold onto their faith despite all their trials? What will happen when they meet in person?

 

 Displaying goodreads.png

 

Displaying Faith with Rikki-cropped.jpg

About the Author

An avid reader, Faith Blum started writing at an early age. Whether it was a story about the camping trip that summer or a more creative story about fictional characters, she has always enjoyed writing. When not writing, Miss Blum enjoys reading, crafting, playing piano, Captaining on the Holy Worlds Historical Fiction Forum and playing games with her family (canasta, anyone?).

As a history enthusiast who has been fascinated for years with the Old West, Faith has endeavored to create a clean, fun, and challenging Western story. Faith lives with her family on a hobby farm in the Northern Midwest, where she enjoys the many cats they have.

You can find Faith on her Website, Blog, Facebook, and Twitter

 

 

Displaying AG Blog Tour Graphic.jpg

April 27………Faith Blum……………….Introducing the Tour

April 30………Jess Strong……………….Book Spotlight

May 4…………Annie Douglass…………..Character Interview

May 7…………LeAnne Douglas…………Book Review

May 11……….Shanna Hatfield………….Character Interview

May 14 ……….Dee Strawbridge…………Book Spotlight

May 18 ……….Dawnita Fogleman………Book Review/Author Interview

May 21 ……….Elizabeth Kaiser…………Author Interview

May 25 ……….Emily Kopf………………Book Review

May 28 ……….Kathryn Fogleman……….Author Interview

June 1…………Raechel…………………..Author Interview

June 4…………Faith Blum……………….Novella Cover Reveal

June 8…………Carlene Havel……………Book Spotlight

June 11 ……….Amanda Tero……………Book Review/Author Interview

June 15……….Jaye L. Knight……………Character Spotlight

June 18 ……….Claire Banschbach………Author Interview

June 22 ……….Tricia Mingerink…………Book Spotlight

June 25 ……….Karilyn Putt………………Book Spotlight

June 29 ……….Morgan Huenke…………..Book Review/Author Interview

July 2…………Faith Blum………………..The Wrap Up

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

