Posted in Book reviews, Tyndale House

Tyndale Book Review: “The Choosing” by Rachelle Dekker

 

 

“The Choosing” by Rachelle Dekker

Dystopian fiction

Review copy source:  Tyndale

My rating: 3 out of 5 Stars

 

About the book:

Like all citizens since the Ruining, Carrington Hale knows the importance of this day. But she never expected the moment she’d spent a lifetime preparing for―her Choosing ceremony―to end in disaster. Ripped from her family, she’ll spend her days serving as a Lint, the lowest level of society. She knows it’s her duty to follow the true way of the Authority.

But as Carrington begins this nightmare, rumors of rebellion rattle her beliefs. Though the whispers contradict everything she’s been told, they resonate deep within.

Then Carrington is offered an unprecedented chance at the life she’s always dreamed of, yet she can’t shake the feeling that it may be an illusion. With a killer targeting Lints and corruption threatening the highest levels of the Authority, Carrington must uncover the truth before it destroys her.

 

My Thoughts:

This was an interesting read. It was my first introduction into dystopian books, and I’m still not exactly sure what I think of this type of fiction. I don’t think it is particularly for me though.

There were things I liked about this book, and some things that I didn’t care for.
The characters were enjoyable; I felt for Carrington a lot, and I really liked Larken – would’ve loved to have her more involved than she was – especially in the end. Larken was a likeable character for me. And I liked Remko too. I think the relationship between him and Carrington was a little…fast/underdeveloped, but sweet nonetheless.

I suspected who the bad guy would be from the beginning, but it grew even creepier as the book went on. I know a lot of people like thrillers, but I’m just not sure I am sold on them – creepiness is not my thing.
The plot was intriguing, though, and it definitely was a fascinating read. I’m just not sure about the whole clarity of the message. From what I understood it was about our worth in God rather than man, but that didn’t actually come across very clearly. It was strange. What was supposed to be represented as ‘good’ bordered on a cult belief, so that confused me. It was like there were two ‘religions’ but neither seemed completely accurate and Elohim-based. Obviously the Law in this book was the ‘bad’ religion, but the alternative that was ‘freeing’ for Carrington was kind of…well, like I said, it reminded me of a cult. It was almost like the 1960’s “free love” feeling of “You’re beautiful, you’re chosen, you’re special”, which is true – we are beautiful, chosen, and special in God, but it’s serious, and in the book it came across to me as almost whispy, flow-y, peace and love, if that makes sense. It was also a little strange that Carrington only met Aaron (the ‘good teacher’) once, yet dreamnt of him and his teachings continually and that’s what ‘saved’ her. Yahweh wasn’t really involved…He was just hinted at in Aaron’s teachings. The only time God was actually mentioned was in the bad religion.
So all of that made me a little uncomfortable.

I have not read Rachelle Dekker’s father’s books – my sister has, and has told me of the suspense and the plots which to me sounded rather creepy. As I said, I’m not a big fan of murder and creepiness in books. I know it’s out there, but I prefer the redemptive angle in books.

On a positive note, I do think that Rachelle has talent in writing, this genre just isn’t for me.

 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publishers in exchange for my honest review which I have given.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

