Posted in Book reviews, Booklook Review

BookLook Review: “The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest” by Melanie Dickerson

 

 

“The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest” A Medieval Fairy Tale by Melanie Dickerson

Releases May 12th, 2015

Review copy source: BookLook

My rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

About the book:

A beautiful maiden who poaches to feed the poor. A handsome forester on a mission to catch her. Danger and love are about to unite in Thornbeck Forest.

The margrave owns the finest hunting grounds for miles around—and Odette Menkels spends her nights poaching his deer to feed the hungry orphans of Thornbeck. By day, Odette is a simple maiden who teaches children to read, but by night this young beauty has become the secret lifeline to the poorest of the poor.

For Jorgen Hartman, the margrave’s forester, tracking down a poacher is a duty he is all too willing to perform. Jorgen inherited his post from the man who raised him . . . a man who was murdered at the hands of a poacher.

When Jorgen and Odette meet at the Midsummer festival and share a connection during a dance, neither has any idea that they are already adversaries.

The one man she wants is bound by duty to capture her; the one woman he loves is his cunning target . . . What becomes of a forester who protects a notorious poacher? What becomes of a poacher when she is finally discovered?

My Thoughts:

Spectacular. That’s what I think of this book. It knocked the socks off me ;) But truly, I was very impressed with this book and fell in love with it immediately. It was … ahhh!! So good, so sweet. The characters were just marvelous and the setting superb and the plot was magnificent, all working together to create a lovely fairy-tale read! I was a bit worried that it would have the typical tension where all things go wrong and you’re frustrated with the characters, but thankfully that wasn’t the case at all! Bad things happened, and there were some tense type moments, but they weren’t overdone, or annoying. It was perfect. And I can’t tell you how much that relieved me!

Main character, Odette Menkels, was such an amazing female role. She was lady-like, and elegant, and yet can shoot her bow like nobody’s business. She was a very strong, gentle (yes those two words definitely go together and describe Odette!) character, and so loveable. I ‘bonded’ with her right away. She was so realistic and I appreciated that so much. She was just…so real! And Jorgen – aaaah swooooonnnn!!! Perfect leading male character in my opinion. Yep, he was amazing. I also fell in love with him (*cough* I really did. I love him) right away. He was upstanding, loyal, strong, humble, and gentle as well. So kind too. And his mother was an amazing woman too.

The plot was so engaging, and once you got to the end it was non-stop and I couldn’t put it down (okay, so I couldn’t put it down through the whole thing…); I had to find out what happened. And what a lovely ending it had, too! I just LOVE happy endings, truly I do. And this one was beautiful, and God-centered.

That being said, the faith thread was really good. I really really appreciated and enjoyed that. It was very real to it, and the characters, and it was great how Odette cherished the Bible – what she could get of it. 

I just love reading books that I adore. :)  I definitely recommend this book. It is a delightful tale of The Swan Princess/Robin Hood (and the part that connects her to being a swan was so fun!), a very fairy-tale like read without the magic, and an inspiring story. It’s going on my favourites list. =)

I received a complimentary copy from the publishers through BookLook in exchange for my honest review which I have given.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

4 thoughts on “BookLook Review: “The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest” by Melanie Dickerson

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

