Posted in Book reviews, Books

Book Review: “Trial by Twelve” by Heather Day Gilbert

http://www.amazon.com/Trial-Twelve-Murder-Mountains-Book-ebook/dp/B00VYWIASC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1429553988&sr=8-1&keywords=trial+by+twelve+by+heather+day+gilbert

“Trial by Twelve” by Heather Day Gilbert

Book 2 in the Murder in the Mountains series   releases May 30th 2015

Review source: ecopy from the author

My rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

About the book:

Tess Spencer loves her low-key job at the Crystal Mountain Spa, which allows her plenty of down-time with her one-year old daughter and lawyer husband, Thomas. But when a pool installation turns up eight skeletons in the spa’s back yard, Tess becomes entangled in a sleuthing job destined to go awry.
As the investigation gets underway, someone dumps a fresh body near the excavated burial site, confirming unspeakable fears. A serial killer has returned to Buckneck, West Virginia…a skilled hunter with a unique taste in prey.
When Tess agrees to help the cunning Detective Tucker gather clues from the inside, she discovers the posh spa hides more than dead bodies. Even as she sifts through layers of deceit, Tess realizes too late that the killer’s sights have zeroed in on her.

My thoughts:

Wow! What a spectacular, on-the-edge-of-your-seat mystery! I read this book as fast as I possibly could – I needed to know who the killer was.
Heather Day Gilbert has a gift for writing, and I just love how smoothly and well-crafted every book comes out.
“Trial by Twelve” was thrilling, and I think, even better than the first in this series. It was truly riveting. :) And so realistic! The characters were so real to me, and felt so familiar. It was great ‘visiting’ the characters from the first book – felt so homey. :)
And Mrs. Gilbert sure knows how to write crazies for characters – goodness, the killer was creepy! But the Christianity in this book was stronger than the last, and I believe shown nicely. I could always go for some more (I love me some God-centered books) but I know a lot of people prefer the subtleness of faith in books. This had that ‘vibe’ to it. One of the quotes I liked and high-lighted on my kindle copy was this:

“Her [Miranda] numerous biblical commentaries and Bible notebooks remind me of how close she walked with God. I feel so inadequate in the face of her faith, but I know she’d tell me we each grow at our own speed and the point is to be growing,” – location 3088

Sometimes it was a little weird that Tess never filled her husband in on some things, but I guess I can still understand how that happens in some marriages. Not being married myself doesn’t give me the point of position to know for sure. ;)
One thing that I was just ‘ehhh’ on was the comment about her baby and cat being hyper because of a full-moon. I’ve heard that before, but I’m just not so sure about that.

But all in all, I really enjoyed this book – this mystery! – and am looking forward to more from Mrs. Gilbert! Oh and the cover is lovely, isn’t it? I think it’s beautiful! Thank you so much, Mrs. Gilbert, for allowing me to be one of your early readers!

I received a complimentary ecopy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Trial by Twelve” by Heather Day Gilbert

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

