Posted in Bethany House, Book reviews

Bethany House Book Review: “Finding Me” by Kathryn Cushman

http://www.amazon.com/Finding-Me-Kathryn-Cushman/dp/0764212613/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1428368388&sr=1-2

“Finding Me” by Kathryn Cushman

Review copy source: Bethany House

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

About the book:

What would you do if you learned your life was a lie?

All her life, Kelli Huddleston has been told the story of a fire–a fire that killed her mother and two siblings when she was an infant. After her father’s death though, she uncovers evidence of a different story, including clippings about a boat accident that killed a young father and his infant daughter. And Kelli quietly realizes the story of her life has been a fiction.

How far would you go to discover the truth?

Armed with only a few pictures of what she thinks might be her family, Kelli crosses the country to Tennessee, determined to uncover the truth about what happened over twenty years ago in a small southern town. When the trip threatens to open doors to the past better left shut, and her plans for the future are jeopardized, Kelli is faced with an agonizing choice that will change her life forever.

My Thoughts:

The story-line intrigued me, and I was looking forward to diving into this book – and I’m glad I did! I really enjoyed reading it. The plot was fascinating, and well executed. I really loved the characters, especially main character Kelli, and semi-main character, Kenmore. And Allison, and Beth…and Rand, and Mrs. Birdyshaw. =) Okay, so all of the characters were well-done.

I loved the easy-to-readness of it; I had just finished a more heavy-book, that I enjoyed, but I needed a bit of a ‘wind-down’ book, and this one was a good one! 

The only thing that I was bummed about was the underdeveloped faith aspect. It was brought up, and had such potential, but it was never finished really, in the ending. And that rather disappointed me. 

Also, the romance was a bit fast…not necessarily bad, just quickly which made it seem almost as if the characters were only attracted to what they saw – the outside. Not a well-developed relationship that is made upon the strengths and beauty of inner character.

However, I still liked it fine. And the whole story was an enjoyable one. :)

I received a complimentary copy from the publishers in exchange for my honest review which I have given.

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

