Posted in Blogging For Books, Book reviews, Books, Chuck Black, Spiritual beliefs

Blogging for Books Review: “Rise of the Fallen” by Chuck Black

http://www.amazon.com/Rise-Fallen-Wars-Realm-Book/dp/160142504X/ref=sr_1_1_twi_1_pap?ie=UTF8&qid=1427991647&sr=8-1&keywords=Rise+of+the+Fallen+by+Chuck+black

 

“Rise of the Fallen” by Chuck Black

#2 in the Wars of the Realm series

Review copy source: Blogging For Books

My rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

About the book:

A six thousand year war rages and now the demonic Fallen are coming for him—the one man shrouded in mystery. Only Validus stands in their way.

Validus is the last and least of God’s angels, but he’s seen much across the millennia since his creation. Empires have risen and fallen as angelic and demonic forces battle in a raging war that will determine humanity’s fate – and the fate of his defeated brothers.

Eventually called to be an earth-bound warrior, Validus rises to a position of power and respect, commanding legions of angels through impossible battles and overwhelming odds. But when orders arrive from the Creator’s most elite Messenger, he finds himself suddenly demoted to a task of apparent insignificance considering the fierce war they are waging against the demonic Fallen – the covert protection of one unbelieving man.

Validus soon finds himself on a mission that will push him beyond his abilities as he battles to protect Drew Carter, for the Fallen are coming for him. Legions of them.
As Validus races against time to discover why Drew is so important to humanity’s survival, can he stand between Drew and all who would destroy him?

 

My Thoughts:

I really don’t know where to start. I mean…wow…wow…wow! This book was crazy in a magnificent way. Chuck Black has a way of making me feel totally “aaaaahhhh!!!!” after finishing one of his books, and this is no exception.

This is the second book in his “Wars of the Realm” series, and while it was different from what I expected, it was still excellent. I was expecting it to be a direct continual of the first book, from Drew Carter’s point of view, but this was from the angel, Validus’ point of view. And so that was really neat. I grew to love the angels (Persimus was one of my very, very favourites) and the look into Spiritual Warfare was mind-boggling.

This book definitely is not a ‘fluffy’ one. Oh no. It is deep, and heavy. I had to put it down a couple of times because of how war-y it was. But it was necessary, and really eye-opening. I know there is Spiritual warfare going on (“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.” – Eph. 6:12), but you don’t really give it a ton of thought, and that’s what this book provokes you to do.

I am really glad I read it, and cannot wait for the next book in this fantastic series! I would definitely recommend that older readers read it – I would suggest an age limit of perhaps 15 or so, but of course, use your own discretion. It is a great book, and important, but as I said, it’s not exactly a light read.

I really enjoyed this book, and the “Reader’s Guide” at the end of the book was really good too – I would suggest reading each one with the chapter, so it’s fresh in your memory. I waited to read them till the end, and while they were still superb, I think I should’ve read them with each chapter to add more depth/understanding/enhancement to it. :)

All in all, I loved it. Love this series, love this book, love this author.

 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publishers in exchange for my honest review which I have given. All thoughts given are my own.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

