Posted in Book reviews, BookCrash, God's Lessons

BookCrash book Review: “For the Joy set before us” by Erica Fye

http://www.amazon.com/For-Joy-Set-Before-Us/dp/1633570029/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1427728952&sr=8-1

 

“For the Joy Set Before Us” by Erica Fye

Nonfiction, missionary book

Review copy source: BookCrash

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

About the book:

Ever wonder what your calling is? Do you feel burdened for the nations? If you are willing to follow where God leads you, the road ahead may be challenging, but it will be well worth it if you do not give up. In For the Joy Set Before Us, Erica Fye invites you to journey with her to get a glimpse into the life of a missionary, and to offer insight into what God may have in store for your life.

My Thoughts:

I was so impressed and encouraged by this book! I love missionary books as it is, but this one was spectacular, with so many deep truths. Erica Fye really gets it.

An honest, good look into what it means to be a true missionary of Christ – and this can be anywhere, doesn’t just mean in the field. We are missionaries in our homes. I know many say that, and it’s easy to pass off – I’ve done that – but it’s true. Wherever God places us we are missionaries, because His light shines through us. He is in us.

I really liked that she hit hard with the fact that people think you can just run off to be a missionary, without thinking about the consequences, the lifestyle, what it means to be in Christ and show Christ to others and just the raw truth of it all. I had to stop and think about it myself, and pray that God would put the purest, right motivation in my heart. As she says, our main goal in missioning should be because we love Jesus. Only Him. He has to be our motivation, our desire, our light, and everything will flow out of that.

This book deeply challenged me, and really helped me.  There were times where I had to set it down to think about what the author was saying. I really love seeing people who are so emptied of themselves and filled utmost with Christ. I want to be that way.

Erica Fye gave real-life examples, and she wrote of it all so well. She was real and so filled with the Holy Spirit, and that showed through her amazing, yet humble writing. It was so good.

I would encourage all to read this book – even if you aren’t planning on going out as a missionary. This book has soooo many amazing Biblical truths and I just loved it. I know I will be looking back on it in the future, many times. It was humbling, teaching, and inspiring.

 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookCrash in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and unbiased.

Book Trailer:

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

