Posted in Books, God's Lessons, Human Trafficking

Human Trafficking

Human Trafficking is real, and oh-so serious. How many of us take the time to actually think about it and pray for those that are trapped in it? I forget too often, though it is something that weighs heavily on my heart.  Today I want to share a music video on the topic. Please watch and listen till the end, and please, please, please, keep these victims in your prayers!

 

 

I had a dream the other night that I was trapped in a human-trafficking ring, and I woke up with my heart beating rapidly, reminding me to pray for those who are caught in it. For them, it is not just a dream, but a living nightmare.

 

Sex trafficking generates $ 27.8 billion every year. Learn more about these great organizations working to combat sex trafficking and forced prostitution: Apne Aap Women Worldwide, Girls Are Not For Sale, International Justice Mission, New Light and Somaly Mam Foundation: www.halftheskymovement.org  Breaks my heart

Books I’ve read (fiction) about it:

http://www.amazon.com/Priceless-Novel-World-Tom-Davis-ebook/dp/B005S2CMQA/ref=sr_1_9?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1427553255&sr=1-9&keywords=priceless

“Priceless” by Tom Davis. This was my first real entry into the world of Human Trafficking, and it broke my heart. This book was amazing, and sad, and redemptive, and you should read it.

 

http://www.amazon.com/Visible-Threat-Janice-Cantore-ebook/dp/B00E1O7O3W/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1427553347&sr=1-1&keywords=visible+threat+by+janice+cantore

“Visible Threat” by Janice Cantore. Again, eye-opening, and heart-wrenching. I reviewed this book here.

 

http://www.amazon.com/Deliver-Me-Evil-Kathi-Macias-ebook/dp/B008FBMQ9O/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1427553450&sr=1-1&keywords=kathi+macias

“Deliver me from evil” by Kathi Macias.

 

“Not Abandoned” by MacKenzie M. This is, God-willing, in the process of being published by my kindred spirit. I was so blessed and privileged to be one of her first readers, and I cannot wait to share this book with you all. She captured the topic/situation of Human-trafficking beautifully, and yet showed the heart-breaking truth of it, and God just completely took over.

 

As for non-fiction, this book was really good:

http://www.amazon.com/White-Umbrella-Walking-Survivors-Trafficking-ebook/dp/B008B9VJM0/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1427556109&sr=1-1&keywords=white+umbrella

“White Umbrella: Walking with Survivors of Sex Trafficking” by Mary Frances Bowley (I also reviewed this one here).

 

And I might’ve read other books, but these are the ones that come to the forefront of my mind.

Thank you for taking the time to read through this, and remember the victims in your prayers!

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

8 thoughts on “Human Trafficking

  1. I love that song, but it’s also heartbreaking. When we performed to it, it was tough to create choreography for. Beautiful post, Rae, and great reminder to pray for these victims! Thanks for mentioning my book; I can’t wait till I have an official cover photo to send you! :)
    Love you! <3

    1. I know, it is. =( (I remember you performing it, because that’s where I heard this song first! :)) Thanks so much for commenting, and yes!!! I can’t wait till you have an official cover photo to share – and till your book is ready and published! That will be so exciting. :)
      Love you too! <3

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

