Posted in 1940's, Give-aways, Writing

“Forgiveness with Thee” – a Short WWII story by yours truly

Hello readers!

Jack Lewis Baillot over at However Improbable is holding a WWII themed give-away, the ‘give-away’ to be three copies of her book, “Brothers-in-arms” which I dearly would love to read. Thus I am entering! One of the ways to enter is to write a short story relating to WWII, so that is what I have done. Here it is!

 

American medic in Anzio Italy 1944 WWII  (pic via Pinterest)

“Forgiveness with Thee”

by Raechel Lenore

Gun fire and explosions rang in Danny’s ears continually, yet his limbs refused to follow his brains muddled commands to move!

*One more hit and I’m a goner,* he silently thought to himself. When would the terror and nightmares be over?

“I can’t…go…yet” he mumbled. “Too…many…sins to…make up for,” he cringed, the pain coursing through his entire body nearly unbearable.

“Lord, hear me, please…let me not die in vain.” He coughed rapidly, his eyes widening in fright and alarm as he saw blood on his chest, surely from the coughing.

Another explosion hit near by.

A single tear trickled down his cheek,  “I am…so…sorry…for all I’ve done, God. Please…save…my family.” More coughs, more blood. Danny knew it couldn’t be long now.

Then, as a refreshing river drenching his parched soul, Bible verses his mother had repeated over and over in his growing up years made their way through his mind:

“Out of the depths have I cried unto thee, O Lord. Lord, hear my voice: let thine ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications. If thou, Lord, shouldest mark iniquities, O Lord, who shall stand? But there is forgiveness with thee, that thou mayest be feared. I wait for the Lord, my soul doth wait, and in his word do I hope. My soul waiteth for the Lord more than they that watch for the morning: I say, more than they that watch for the morning. Let Israel hope in the Lord: for with the Lord there is mercy, and with him is plenteous redemption. And he shall redeem Israel from all his iniquities.” – Psalm 130

Tears continued to flow down his face. But there is forgiveness in Thee…  “Thank You, Lord, Thank You,”

Everything in Danny’s world went dark.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

“Ma’am? You home, Ma’am?” a young soldier pounded on the door of a small American home. Amelia McQuade stood at the kitchen stone, making do with what little supplies she had. “This blasted war” she mumbled. Wiping her flour-covered hands on her apron, Amelia hurried to her door. Another knock sounded, and she called out, “Be right there!” Her little four-year old son appeared at her feet, “Who is it, Mamma?”

“I’m not sure, Daniel,” She answered patiently. “Shall we find out?”

Not waiting for her child to answer, Amelia opened the door, her hand resting on her pregnant stomach.

“Can I help – ” her hand quickly flew to her mouth. Danny. You came home!

The young soldier stood behind Amelia’s husband’s wheelchair. “We thought he was a goner, Ma’am, but apparently the Lord had other plans,”

Danny took Amelia’s hands in his broken ones, “I waited for the Lord…and He delivered me back to you.”

Praise ye the Lord.

The End

I hoped you enjoyed this short tale! Be sure to head over to Jack’s blog and join in her give-away fun!

Please no stealing – this writing piece belongs to me (and God!); thank you for respecting that!

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

2 thoughts on ““Forgiveness with Thee” – a Short WWII story by yours truly

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

