Posted in Book reviews, God's Lessons, Reviews

Book Review: “Adventures and Adversities” by Sarah Holman

http://www.amazon.com/Adventures-Adversities-Tales-Taelis-Book-ebook/dp/B00HFFDCEE/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1424880225&sr=8-5&keywords=Sarah+Holman

“Adventures and Adversities” by Sarah Holman

Tales of Taelis Book One

My rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

About:

One day Alditha is content living with her family, the next she is taking her friend’s place to serve at the king’s castle. Her father’s final instructions, to keep smiling and to do what is right, will be harder to live out than she ever imagined. She will face a royal nephew who delights in making people miserable, an angry servant girl who will stop at nothing to get what she wants, and noblemen who plot murder. Will she be able to keep the promise she made to her father? Will she find the faith she longs for during all her Adventures and Adversities?

My Thoughts:

I was very impressed by this book.  It felt so real, so life-like, and that, even when I finished, I didn’t want to leave.

Sarah Holman writes a beautiful, intricate story that is so filled with faith and struggles that you cannot help but relate to it and the characters. Alditha was a strong character – she faced so many trials, yet she kept faith through them all. And one of my favourite lessons of this book was how she learned that God can handle our tears and our laughter, our joy and our sorrows, both. He understands that we struggle, and He helps us with it. The book also taught to look at all the blessings He has given us in this life; not to focus on the bad. Her attitude really encouraged and challenged my own.

There were a few spelling/word errors, but they were easy to overlook for me. You knew what she was saying, so it still came across beautifully. This book is more of a journey-type book. We get to watch as Alditha journeys through her life and how she handles it. Sometimes it felt like it might have lacked a bit of a strong plot, but for me, that didn’t hinder it at all. The overwhelming sense I got from the book was how Miss Holman shared God and our faith in Him – it was so well done. It is something I want to see in every book – if God is present, the whole book will come together. And He was present here.

I also appreciate the historical details she added to it. It helped make the book come even more alive. And the medieval period is one of my most favourites. :)

I greatly admire Sarah Holman and her willingness to share her own faith and struggles. She wrote a note at the end of the book, and said that often she felt that her writing was so God could teach her – and I love that! I’ve experienced that in my own writing. She was being real, and that showed through her novel beautifully.

This is a book I would gladly recommend to anyone.

 

Thank you, Sarah, for sending me a complimentary ecopy for this review! It has blessed me!

 

(Side note: the song “He Knows” by Jeremy Camp came to mind while reading this book – I thought it fit well!)

 

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

One thought on “Book Review: “Adventures and Adversities” by Sarah Holman

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

