Posted in Guest Post, Writing

A Guest Post….”When the Mirror Lies” by Kenzie M. Part One

Hello! Today I have a special treat for you all. A guest post from my lovely friend Kenzie! And it’s a remarkable story, too, one I hope you will enjoy. I will be splitting it up into two parts – one half today, and the other tomorrow, so be sure to check back! And as always – I love to hear from my readers, so please don’t be afraid to comment. =) Enjoy this short story:

********************************************************

 

“When the Mirror Lies” By Kenzie M.

 

     It was exquisite.

     Bridget was sure she had never seen anything like it before. She cupped her hands around her face as she peered into the window and squinted at the marvelous dress. Her fingers longed to touch the soft silk material, and her eyes took in the beauty of the delicate beads and lace neckline. “Oh if only I could have that dress”, she thought to herself as she reluctantly pulled herself away from the window. She pushed her dark hair over her shoulder and cast one last look at the beautiful dress with her piercing blue eyes. With a sigh, she slowly turned around so that her back was to the dress shop. 

     “Aren’t you going to come in and try it on?” a voice called to her as she was walking away.

     Bridget whirled back around. She peered curiously at the middle-aged woman who had called to her. This wasn’t the owner of the dress shop, and none of the employees ever came outside to chase after customers. “No, I have to be going. But thank you for the offer,” she replied politely. She pulled her hooded cloak more tightly around her shoulders. Perhaps this woman had recognized her as the King’s daughter? She had hoped to keep her identity a secret on this trip into the village.

     “Come now, you have to at least try it on,” the older woman persisted.

     Bridget hesitated for a moment before finally relenting and following her back into the dress shop. “Where is Miranda?” she asked curiously, inquiring about the shop owner.

     “Miranda isn’t here today.”

     Bridget stopped in the doorway of the shop and crossed her arms across her chest. “If you don’t mind me asking, who are you?”

     The woman winked at her and smiled. “I’m glad you asked. My name is Diana. I’m sure you’re curious as to the reason I am here.” At Bridget’s nod, Diana continued, “I’m here looking for a star.”

     Bridget was confused. “What do you mean?” she asked slowly.

     “The next village over hosts an annual beauty pageant and it’s the largest around. So I am here looking for a beautiful girl who can be the next pageant star. If you think you have a chance, why don’t you try the dress on?” Diana explained.

     Bridget stared at the dress in the window for a long time. She hesitantly pushed her hood off of her dark hair and looked up at Diana. “I’m the princess,” she admitted, “The King’s daughter. I don’t think I should participate. Besides, my Father has taught me that true beauty is not how many beads you have on your dress or the amount of jewelry you wear. I am beautiful because my Father tells me I am beautiful. His opinion is the only one that matters. ”

     Diana threw her head back and laughed. “Silly girl, I’m not sure your Father has been honest with you.” She touched Bridget’s hair and looked her up and down critically. “There is so much we could do to improve your beauty. Let’s get started right away.” She called to another employee and hurriedly set up a dressing room for Bridget to change in. They also pulled up a chair and dumped a pile of make-up onto the table.

     Bridget gazed on the scene, her mind swirling. I should just leave. Everything inside of her was pulling her out of the shop and back to the castle, but yet she stayed. It was something that Diana had said. “There is so much we could do to improve your beauty.” What did she mean by that? Was Bridget’s beauty somehow flawed that it needed improving? The fear of not being beautiful enough latched its icy fingers around her heart, and so she pulled the dress into her arms and hurried into the dressing room.

     The rest of the day passed in a swirl for Bridget as Diana gave her a make-over and made her try on every dress in the store. By the time she got home, she was exhausted. As she fell asleep, she resolved to not go back to the dress shop the following day. But when the morning light awoke her from her slumber, she felt a pull clawing at her to go back to the shop. I need to be more beautiful. Diana had warned her that if she didn’t come back, she would never be beautiful enough.

     “I’m here,” Bridget murmured as she walked into the dress shop to the sound of the clanging bells on the door handle.

     “Finally,” Diana grumbled as she pushed Bridget down into a chair and pulled out a pair of scissors from the drawer. “I need to give you a hair cut right away.”

     Bridget touched her curls and shook her head. “No, thank you. I think its fine the way it is.”

     Diana gazed into the mirror with an amused look and locked eyes with Bridget. “You want to be beautiful, don’t you? Then do everything that I say.”

     Bridget closed her eyes and consented. All I want is to be beautiful.

 

     …….To Be Continued TOMORROW!

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

