Posted in Book reviews, Revell Reads

Revell Book Review: “The Crimson Cord” by Jill Eileen Smith

http://www.amazon.com/Crimson-Cord-Rahabs-Daughters-Promised/dp/0800720342/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1423085582&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=The+Crimson+Cord+by+Jill+eileen+smit

 

“The Crimson Cord” by Jill Eileen Smith

Review copy from Revell

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Age recommendation: at least 18+

 

About the book:

Wife to a gambler who took one too many risks, Rahab finds herself sold as a slave to cover her husband’s debt. Forced into prostitution by Dabir, counselor to the Syrian king, Rahab despairs of ever regaining her freedom and her self-respect. But when Israelite spies enter Jericho and come to lodge at her house, Rahab sees a glimmer of hope and the opportunity of a lifetime. In one risky moment, she takes a leap of faith, puts her trust in a God she does not know, and vows to protect the spies from the authorities. When the armies of Israel arrive weeks later, Rahab hopes they will keep their promise, but she has no idea what kind of challenges await her outside Jericho’s walls–or if she will ever know the meaning of love.

My Thoughts:

There were things I liked about this book and things I didn’t. I think “The Crimson Cord” is one of Mrs. Smith’s better books, but there was still more romance/romance details than I think necessary. I am aware that it is the account of Rahab and that she was a prostitute, so there are bound to be ‘unfavourable’ details, though they can be handled delicately.

I do really love the redemption account of Rahab. It is one of my favourites in the Bible. I have enjoyed reading a couple of fiction works of the account, so it was pleasant to read another.

It was interesting to read the author’s perspective of Rahab’s previous life, before she became part of the tribes of Israel. Though I think I would have enjoyed the book being more equally split – half of her previous life, and the rest of her redemption process in Israel, instead of the majority being her life leading up to her joining Israel.

Oh, I loved the little cat that Rahab “adopted”! I have a definite soft spot for cats, and thought that was absolutely adorable. :)

There were parts that made me cry – some out of sadness and shared grief with the characters, and some out of shared joy with them. I am glad for the opportunity to read “The Crimson Cord”, even if I didn’t fall head-over-heels in love with it.

I received a complimentary copy from the publishers through Revell Blog Program in exchange for my honest review which I have given. All thoughts expressed are my own.

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

