Posted in Book reviews, Litfuse

Litfuse Book Review: “Beyond all Dreams” by Elizabeth Camden

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0764211757/ref=cm_cr_mts_prod_img

 

“Beyond All Dreams” by Elizabeth Camden

Historical Christian Romance

Review copy from Litfuse

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars.

 

About the book:

Anna O’Brien leads a predictable and quiet life as a map librarian at the illustrious Library of Congress until she stumbles across the baffling mystery of a ship disappeared at sea. Thwarted in her attempts to uncover information, her determination outweighs her shyness and she turns to a dashing congressman for help.

Luke Callahan was one of the nation’s most powerful congressmen before his promising career was shadowed in scandal. Eager to share in a new cause and intrigued by the winsome librarian, he joins forces with Anna to solve the mystery of the lost ship. Opposites in every way, Anna and Luke are unexpectedly drawn to each other despite the strict rules forbidding Anna from any romantic entanglements with members of Congress.

From the gilded halls of the Capitol where powerful men shape the future of the nation, to the scholarly archives of the nation’s finest library, Anna and Luke are soon embroiled in secrets much bigger and more perilous than they ever imagined. Is bringing the truth to light worth risking all they’ve ever dreamed for their futures?

 

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book. It was such an enjoyable read, one that wasn’t quick to leave your mind. To me, it seemed like such a comfortable book – you know, one you just love visiting in. It brought warmth, and was well-written, the characters love-able. I instantly loved the main character, Anna. And that she was quiet, reserved and worked in a map library! What’s not to like? For me, at least. =) I could relate to her very well, and Luke was a strong character as well. He had his broken-ness, but we all do, and that showed well through this book. I think a bit more God could’ve been involved in this book, but otherwise it was good. One quote I liked:

“He (Luke) loathed telephones, which he saw as annoying and soulless machines. Talking to someone you couldn’t see was awkward and impersonal, whereas letters gave him the luxury of choosing the perfect phrase to communicate exactly how he felt.” (Chapter 2, page 29) – my sentiments shared, Luke. XD

It was my first book to read of Elizabeth Camden’s but now I do wish to read more of hers, as I really like her writing style. The plot was handled very well, and so engaging too, with somewhat of a mystery. I loved that.

One of the very few things I wasn’t fond of was a weird reference to bonfires being pagan (which I understand – that’s not what bothered me), and the fact that Luke was against it at first because it was pagan (and the whole scene indeed felt very pagan-like). But then he didn’t say anything about it and actually enjoyed it…that was the weird part. I was expecting him to stand up against it, for his beliefs, but it didn’t go that way. So then I wondered why it was even brought up – if the author knew something was pagan, why make it to be okay and even enjoyed? That just confused me.

Other than that though, I don’t think there were many things I didn’t like.

One other quote I liked and wrote done was this one:

“Mr. Callahan, you must learn to accept who you are. You’re both a saint and a sinner. Beautiful, but broken. Aren’t we all?” (Chapter 8, pg. 124)

When I think about this book, I think of the brokenness of us all, and how sometimes that is really okay, because it means God can work on us. And we all need that – we all need His healing, Him.

All in all, I found “Beyond all Dreams” to be such a pleasant read, one worth revisiting. :)

 

Note: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity group in exchange for my honest review which I have given.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

