Posted in Book reviews, Books, Litfuse

Litfuse Book Review: “Swept Away” by Laura V. Hilton and Cindy Loven – A Quilts of Love book

“Swept Away” by Laura V. Hilton and Cindy Loven, a Quilts of Love Book

Review copy source: Litfuse

My rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Sara Jane Morgan is trying to balance teaching with caring for her ailing, stubborn grandmother. When school lets out for the summer, the plans are for Grandma to teach Sara Jane to quilt as they finish up the Appalachian Ballad quilt Grandma started as a teenager. But things don’t always go as planned. Andrew Stevenson is hiding from his past—and his future. He works as a handyman to pay the bills, but his heart is as an artisan, designing homemade brooms. When Sara Jane’s grandmother hires him to renovate her home, sparks fly between Drew and his new employer’s granddaughter. Still, it doesn’t take Sara Jane long to see Drew isn’t what he seems. Questions arise, and she starts researching him online. What she discovers could change her life—and her heart—forever.

My Thoughts:

I had never read any of the Quilt’s of Love books, and when one came available through Litfuse, I thought I’d give it a try. And while I’m glad I did, I think I would’ve enjoyed a different one more so.

Though I don’t think it is the series’ fault, I did not care for this book at all. I was actually very disappointed, and disgusted, even, in a few areas. The story itself could’ve been good, and one I wouldn’t have thought twice about, but there was much that I found just inappropriate to be in a “Christian” book.

The main two things that I was disgusted with were:

The main female character was doing the chasing, and dressing provocatively on purpose – causing Drew to stumble, but this was all shown in a ‘good light’. I will not go into details, but please believe me when I say those sections were very inappropriate, and I would not recommend this book to any young readers, especially. I don’t actually recommend this book at all, because I do not feel it was God-honouring, but it is especially not for young readers. If this were just a ‘secular’ book with no claims on Christianity, fine (sad, but fine).  But to have the idea that a Christian person can read this and be uplifted and possibly even learn, is not going to happen. Instead, I’m afraid it’s teaching unChristian behaviour (causing anyone who reads it to stumble).  people that read it might believe it is perfectly okay to seduce men by unbuttoning buttons, etc.  It’s not!   Or think it’s okay to be with a man before marriage, which is exactly what Christian books should be training others not to do.  We are to be set apart -not to look and act or behave as the world behaves.  I see little to no difference in the way these characters behave than any other ‘worldly’ person.  And to me, personally, that is not a “Christian” book.

Second was how the women were ‘strong-headed’ and bossy, and even said that, in the grandma’s case, the husband let her run the house and didn’t stand up to her – this is not godly. God does not ask the woman to run the house – instead, He instructs the wives to be submissive. This does not mean the man should walk upon her, but it means equal respect, and letting the man be the head of the house as God designed.

I was disappointed with the lack of faith displayed among the characters. It seems like it was just thrown in at the end. Drew’s testimony, given on page 167, was great, but the book was not centered around that fact, nor gave much evidence that he was much changed because of Christ. “You will know them by their fruits” – in this book, I did not see this from either, even after they were both saved.

I do realize that many people reading this review will disagree because these are the standards that the world accepts.   However, I do believe that Christians should hold quite different standards and their books should reflect that.

I don’t want this to be a completely negative review; the writing style was fine, and were it not for the inappropriateness, and lack of faith, it would’ve been an enjoyable read. And by this one book, I am not turned away from the Quilt’s of Love series – I would still consider reading more in this series, as they are all different and by different authors. Also, one thing I did like about this book was the quilt aspect – I’ve never been a quilter, but reading about the story behind the quilt being made was neat, and I enjoyed that.

 

Litfuse and the publishers sent me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest, unbiased opinion, which I have given. All thoughts are strictly my own.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

One thought on “Litfuse Book Review: “Swept Away” by Laura V. Hilton and Cindy Loven – A Quilts of Love book

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

