Posted in Book reviews, Reviews

Book Review: “Dash and Cinder” by Bridget Ladd

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MS3MMJE/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_0

“Dash and Cinder”  a unique Cinderella retelling

by Bridget Ladd 

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

About the Book:

This short-story is a retelling of Cinderella with a sci-fi, Indian, steampunk, twist . . . where Cinderella may not be entirely human, with a setting in an alternate version of India, and where a young man will do everything he can to find the love that was once stolen from him . . .

My Thoughts:

I really enjoy Cinderella retellings. They are almost always so fun. This one was no exception – it was different, unique, and enjoyable. I had never read any steam-punk type books previously, so this was a first. I didn’t dislike it – in fact, I liked this short tale. Somehow, Miss Ladd made a loveable, hero of Dashnu in just a short amount of time. I call that talent. :) And of course you feel deeply for Anora/Cinder’s plight and like her as the main character. I liked each of the characters in this book – besides Madame and her two daughters…they were rather disagreeable. ;)

Though I do not think it was intentional, I saw  the Greater Love Story played out through this book. I think much of the classic Cinderella story reflects that – we love these tales, because we yearn to be pursued and fought for. In the fairy tale, it is by a Prince, but in real life it is by our Lord – Prince of all princes. He does pursue and fights for us at all costs. He is our greater love story.

And so I thought that neat, intentional in “Dash and Cinder” or not.

The beginning of the book took me a tiny bit to get into and fully understand (however, I think that was just me adjusting to the new genre), but another reading of it shall cure that I think. And I shall read it again. :)

The only thing that I did not overly care for was a part in the end, where, like in the movie Frozen, the female character is the ‘stronger’ one instead of the male character. I see nothing wrong with letting the man save the women. In fact, I think that is partly why we love the tale of Cinderella, because she was saved in a way, and cherished enough to be so.

Other than that, though, I enjoyed this light read!

Oh and I love the cover – it is just brilliantly beautiful!

Thank you so much, Bridget, for sending me the complimentary copy of “Dash and Cinder” – I greatly enjoyed it!

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

One thought on “Book Review: “Dash and Cinder” by Bridget Ladd

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

