Posted in Book reviews, Books, Litfuse, Spiritual beliefs

Litfuse Book Review: “Destiny Defied” by J.A. Marx

http://www.amazon.com/Destiny-Defied-The-Series-Volume/dp/1502703777/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1415491573&sr=8-1

Destiny Defied
Book One in The Destiny Series

By J.A. Marx

Review source from Litfuse Group
My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

About:
A dramatic shipwreck emancipates Riki Hammad, but the island where she finds refuge is compromised. Unless she finds a power truly great enough to defeat her dark past, she will choose death over returning to captivity. Lord Vétis, high priest of a cultic underground, will stop at nothing to reclaim their chosen one. Using black magic, he manipulates Riki and her four self-assigned bodyguards, triggering a battle that consumes the entire island. The underground will never allow Riki to live out her dreams of a normal life…something she has never known.

My Thoughts:

Wow. Really, that is almost all I can say. This book was just…amazing. I was soo pleasantly surprised by this gem.
The setting is on an island in 1990, yet has a sci-fi tone to it most definitely.
And the spiritual aspect – perfect. This book dealt with spiritual war-fare, which we all need to be made more aware of. It is real – not fiction. And this book, I think, portrayed that well. It also portrayed healing and dealing with out past very well too. This author knows what she is writing about, and I am definitely a new fan of hers!
“Destiny Defied” had so much packed into it. Times where you’re laughing, grinning, tear-y eyed, and tense. And shocked/scared. All wrapped into one book. Amazing book. I know I keep saying that, but it’s true. I really enjoyed this one.
It was so captivating and not once did it get boring or ‘dull’. Getting to know the main character, Hope (though she had various names throughout the book, which was neat), was really cool. And same with all the guys, too – seeing their characters, their strengths and weakness and how they battled that, was good as well.

My only complaint is: Why did it have to end and how long do we have to wait for the sequel?? :D This definitely is a book that requires the sequel – meaning, be prepared to get to the last page and crave for more! I kind of just stared at the last page with my mouth hanging open, and then immediately tried to figure out when the next one would be available. Still working on that. =)

I, personally, would recommend this book to be read, at the youngest 14 or 15, for mature content and very real spiritual war-fare. Yes, we need to be made more aware, but we also need to be prepared to read it. =)

I received a free copy of this book from the author and Litfuse publicity group in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

One thought on “Litfuse Book Review: “Destiny Defied” by J.A. Marx

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

