Posted in Book reviews, Moody Book Review, Tessa Afshar

Moody Publisher Book Review of Tessa Afshar’s “In the Field of Grace”

“In the Field of Grace” by Tessa Afshar

Biblical Fiction

5 out of 5 Stars

Source: MPnewsroom

About the book:

Destitute, grief-stricken, and unwanted by the people of God, Ruth arrives in Israel with nothing to recommend her but Naomi’s, love. Her loftiest hope is to provide enough food to save Naomi and herself from starvation.

But God has other plans for her life. While everyone considers Ruth an outcast, she is astounded to find one of the most honored men of Judah showing her favor.  Long since a widower and determined to stay that way, Boaz is irresistibly drawn to the foreign woman with the haunted eyes. He tells himself he is only being kind to his Cousin Naomi’s chosen daughter when he goes out of his way to protect her from harm, but his heart knows better.
 
Based on the biblical account of Ruth, In the Field of Grace is the story of a love that ultimately changes the course of Israel’s destiny and the future of the whole world.

 

My Review:

Oh my goodness did I love this book. I knew I would, though. :) Tessa Afshar never disappoints! At least, I don’t think so. Each book she writes is absolutely amazing, and it is a joy to read. I always learn something from them, and love and appreciate the depth she adds to each book.
This was a beautiful retelling of the Book of Ruth from the Bible. The characters came so alive, and you got to see so many new aspects that you don’t really think about when you read the Biblical account. I just love that Miss Afshar always enhances the Biblical accounts and always points the reader back to God and to read the Bible account above all else.
I loved every inch of this book, and was so pleased to read it. The characters were magnificent, and you grew to love each and every one of them – even the ones you didn’t think you would like!
Towards the end, I would come to a spot that I’d think it was over and then find that there are still quite a few chapters left – and normally, that might not be such a good thing, but when it comes to Miss Afshar’s books, it is always a good thing!! I personally think that these books you could read forever :D I guess I may be a little biased though, seeing as I love them so much…
But yes, back to the story-line. What else can I say other than that it was amazing? So well done, and so many truths! And I loved that the healing process specifically in Boaz’s life wasn’t just right away – it was really a process, and that made it so realistic.
I do think, though, that the book should have been named “Pearl in the Night” as was an option at the beginning. “In the Field of Grace” is definitely a lovely title, don’t get me wrong, but I think “Pearl in the Night” would have fit it so well! I loved that part towards the end….*sigh*. I won’t give away anything. But go read it for yourself!! And though it is not a direct continuation of “Pearl in the Sand” (Tessa Afshar’s first book), it is definitely related, and it would be nice to read in order – but at the same time, “In the Field of Grace” can easily stand alone, as can “Pearl in the Sand”.
I am so thankful for the chance to read this! I loved it so much.

 

I received a complimentary copy of “In the Field of Grace” from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

2 thoughts on “Moody Publisher Book Review of Tessa Afshar’s “In the Field of Grace”

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

