Posted in Book reviews, Books, God's Lessons

Book Review: “Sew, it’s a Quest” by Kendra E. Ardnek

“Sew, it’s a Quest”

By Kendra E. Ardnek

3.5 Stars out of 5 Stars.

About the Book:

Robin and Robert are royal twins. They are the only two to have received a Fairy Godmother gift in nearly a century, an amazing honor. Soon it was clear that their gifts had been switched and a search began to find the Fairy Godmother to right the mistake. When she is finally sighted by a knight, the family learns that the pair must find her for themselves and they only have until their 18th birthday … only 4 months away. Will they be able to find her in time?

My Review:

It is always a bit hard writing reviews, because I always want to be nice, but honest. Some reviews are harder than others, because of a moral standard I keep. This book is one of those.
The writing style was splendid and unique – I really liked it! And it had a very fairy-tale feel to it, which is also fun. But what made me uncomfortable was all the magic, fairies, sprites and talking to trees/wind. I understand that it seems impossible to write any fairy-tale book without these things, but I feel that if our aim is to glorify God, it most certainly is possible, and He will help us.
I admit I was torn about this book, because part of me really does enjoy all these elements, and the feel, etc. But my moral standard reminds me what the Lord has already taught me, that there are only two forces in this world – good and evil – and if it didn’t come from God, then it can only come from one other source, which would be Satan. And Satan knows how to cloak everything to look so good, like magic, and fairies, etc. Let me tell you, I had a hard time with fairies – I used to love them. Seriously. I was borderline obsessed, no joke. Of course the Lord gently led me to His truth, but it was hard, because I wanted to like fairies.
However, it is so much more enriching to follow His plan and desires. My “testimony” aside…
As I said, this book was cleverly written, and the author definitely has a talent. The story was pretty easy to follow, and entertaining, besides my previous comments. I do wish there was a lot more God involved. It was only at the very end that He was mentioned, which I would have liked changed.
There was only one scene that could be labeled ‘gory’ and it was only a sentence, but I think it was a little strong, especially if younger readers were to be reading this. It says Robin cut off the head of a wolf – even though there was no blood or gore, that sentence could’ve been worded more gently, I believe – even just say ‘she despatched it’.
The characters were pretty well constructed; Robin wasn’t a favourite of mine, being a bit rebellious and somewhat on the whiny side – I also didn’t care for her comments about being glad to not wear skirts, proving that she was unhappy with being a girl… but I did really like Robert and Rosemond, as well as Doranna. I can’t say what I thought of Eric, because I didn’t ‘get to know’ him much in this story. And I would’ve liked to get to know Casperl more – he seemed like a good character! I understand that this book is first in a series, so perhaps it carries on to a story of his own.

I greatly thank the author for sending me a complimentary ecopy of “Sew, it’s a Quest” for the purpose of this review!! Keep writing. :)

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

