Posted in 1940's, Books, Pictures, Random babblings

19 in the 1940’s

One would think, by that title, that I am going to share some historic post, etc. But I’m actually not. So I do apologise for any hopes being dashed.
What this post is really about is…well, just come along for the ride and you can see.

Two days ago marked the date I was born 19 years ago. Commonly known as a birthday. To quote Dug the dog from the movie “UP” – “Today has been a very good birthday” – only put that to two days ago. Yes, ’twas a lovely day indeed, for many reasons. Excellent surprise, lovely time spent with my kindred spirit, Ken, and some pictures that made me feel like I was the heroine in my current favourite time era books. You getting the connection? Yes, the 1940’s. I love that time period. And WWII Christian fiction is some of the best fiction out there. Specifically Sarah Sundin’s books. Wowee. Walter in “A Distant Melody”? Yep, he was smashing.
The only sad thing about my birthday, is he didn’t show up…hmm…

But still, it was a marvelous day. And for a day, I got to be 19 in the 1940’s (Ah, there is the title!) for a little bit. And I wanted to share the pictures with you – just a couple at least. I also want to share them with you, because there are a couple of items worn in it, that are just lovely, and mayhaps you might be interested in getting your own. :) This lovely gal made me a messenger bag with green and brown, and the flight wings and cross, as well as a white lovely snood – both of these shall be pictured below! She also made me super snuggly slipper socks that are just…lovely. Yep, it is all lovely. If you like what you see in the pictures, or are just curious to see the gal’s blog, I will have her link below. She really has been super kind!

And without further ado, the pictures:

307

See the white snood and darling bag? I am soo thrilled with them!! Excellent birthday presents, I tell you.

frosty

317

 

 

326

333

 

So, there it is. I am trying to slowly find more 1940’s inspired outfits, because I really love that look. :) Oh and did you see Sarah Sundin’s books in the first two pictures? :D Those were birthday gifts as well, and I couldn’t be more pleased. If you haven’t read “The Wings of Glory” series yet, you really ought to!

Now to share the link to the blog belonging to the lovely gal who created the snood, bag and slippers (sadly the slippers are not pictured here, but they really are nice!).

ASC Book Reviews (ASC Photos and Designs)

Even if you don’t wish for a snood or bag, do check out her blog – Amada has a nice one! And good book reviews. :)

Thank you for taking the time to read this post! Do you have a favourite time period? I’d love to hear from you. =)

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

7 thoughts on “19 in the 1940’s

  1. Ahhhhhh, I LOVE the vintage-setting pictures, Raechel!!!! :D Wow, that black and white photos looks sooo 1940s!! The snood is absolutely darling. :) (I really want one now. B-) ) Wait, do you have hardback copies of the Wings of Glory series?? Ah, I love hardbacks books. :)
    *sigh* Goodness, yes, Walt is smashing. ;) He didn’t show up for your birthday?? What a jerk! XD

    1. I’m glad! Thank you! :) I know, I looove my snood :D And yes, I do have hardbacks of the Wings of Glory Series! I love them. :D
      Mmmhmmm! But I know. So sad. Maybe next birthday he’ll come. ;)

      1. Awesome! Hardbacks are so amazing. :)
        Walt is seriously the best of the Novak brothers. ;) Reading “A Distant Melody” gave me the worst fictional crush I’ve EVER had. :P

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

