Posted in Book reviews, Litfuse

Litfuse Book Review: “Citizen” by Rob Peabody

Title: Citizen

Author: Rob Peabody

Type: Non-fiction, Christian

Review Source: Litfuse Group

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Description:

As Jesus followers, we are citizens of Heaven. We have been set apart for His Kingdom work. We have a new allegiance. It’s a fundamental change. But how far has this truly penetrated? Is Jesus asking of us more than we are comfortable with giving? Is our faith anything more than a Get Out of Hell Free card? So many believers feel stuck. They would like to move on, grow, see lives transformed – including their own! But how?

My Review:

This book was a good read, with good Biblical insight, though I did have mixed thoughts about it.

It was very enjoyable, and I’m glad I was able to read it.  A lot of it had me nodding my head in agreement, and the author  stated things as they were, which I think is often needed in today’s day and age.

I liked that the author weaved personal stories into the message of the book; I feel like that gets one interested and is easier to read then. At least, for me. :)

Though I did enjoy this book, there were a few things that I didn’t completely agree with, and it bothered me slightly that he used many different Bible versions, specifically the Message, to get his point across – I feel that we don’t need to use God’s Word to get our points across, but rather should be building on His truths. I also felt that The Message version did not display respect to the Lord, but that is another subject.

This book would be better read by mature Christians, not necessarily new Christians, because though it helps with what to do for God, it doesn’t give a complete foundation of what we really need, and that is Jesus. I liked the book a lot, but I really feel that we need to be getting across mainly Jesus, because that is what this world is lacking.

The background of the time of Jesus, given in this book was very interesting and would enhance your understanding as you read the Biblical accounts, knowing just how much it costed to follow Jesus. I appreciated getting to understand this through the book.

As with all books, you cannot take it as whole, and follow only that. The Bible is the only Book that is going to save you, heal you, and be the main way through which you grow. Now, I am not saying that you cannot read such books as “Citizen” because I do think they are helpful in our walks with Christ, but I do want to encourage everyone to go first to the Lord and His Word and take that as Whole.

Thank you to Litfuse and the publishers for my review copy.

I received a copy of this book for review purposes, free of charge. All thoughts are my own and unbiased.

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

