Posted in God's Lessons, My Abba Father, Spiritual beliefs, Videos

Needing Him – Because He is Good.

Him

What comes to mind when you read those words? I need Him? And by ‘Him’ I mean, Jesus.

I think of the song by Matt Maher – “Oh I need You, Oh I need You. Every hour I need You” etc. and originally it made me think that I need Jesus for every-day living; for help, for strength, etc. Which is true. We do desperately need Him for those things – for everything. Because without Him, we can do literally nothing.

Now, God so graciously taught me something more. Another step. He showed me that I need Him because otherwise I would be going to hell. I’m serious. Without Him saving me, without Him choosing me, I would be dead already. Maybe not physically, but definitely spiritually. I would be walking on the road to hell.

Though it should be common knowledge, it had not sunk into me before now. Yes, I knew it. But I didn’t know it. God has a way of bringing that about, though. And it is wholly by His choice. Without Him, I’d be nothing – without Him I AM nothing, but with Him I have a future. And a hope. And I know it is nothing of what I’ve done. Because I’ve done nothing good. Anything good is because of Him.

There is a song, and I think mayhaps I have posted it here before a long time ago, but it played throughout my head after God gave me the realization that He is saving me – that it is His choice to save me, because He is good. The part of the song that I heard says this, “If there’s anything good, anything that’s good in me – well it must be You!”

And here’s a verse to correlate with this, to affirm His promises:

Deuteronomy 7: 6-9 (emphasis mine)
“For thou art an holy people unto the Lord thy God: the Lord thy God hath chosen thee to be a special people unto himself, above all people that are upon the face of the earth.
The Lord did not set his love upon you, nor choose you, because ye were more in number than any people; for ye were the fewest of all people:
But because the Lord loved you, and because he would keep the oath which he had sworn unto your fathers, hath the Lord brought you out with a mighty hand, and redeemed you out of the house of bondmen, from the hand of Pharaoh king of Egypt.
Know therefore that the Lord thy God, he is God, the faithful God, which keepeth covenant and mercy with them that love him and keep his commandments to a thousand generations;”

I love those verses. I think they are beautiful. Because it shows that the Lord chose us – not because of anything we did or do (‘not because ye were more in number of any people’) but because He loves us! It is His choice completely.

I can’t tell you how much that revelation meant to me – means to me. It was such a relief, knowing it isn’t up to me, yet He still loves me anyway.

God is good. And I need Him.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

3 thoughts on “Needing Him – Because He is Good.

    1. Thanks, Chantelle! We are all doing pretty well, thanks. :) I hope you are all well, too! I plan on emailing you as soon as I can – I’m sorry I haven’t been able to do so sooner!

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

