Posted in Blogging For Books, Books

Blogging For Books Review: “Thief of Glory” by Sigmund Brouwer

Title: Thief of Glory

Author: Sigmund Brouwer

Source: Blogging for Books

Type: Fiction, WWII

Suggested Age Range:  At least 16 years old at the youngest for mature content.

My rating: 3.5 stars our of 5 Stars

 

Description:

A boy coming of age in a time of war…
the love that inspires him to survive.

For ten year-old Jeremiah Prins, the life of privilege as the son of a school headmaster in the Dutch East Indies comes crashing to a halt in 1942 after the Japanese Imperialist invasion of the Southeast Pacific. Jeremiah takes on the responsibility of caring for his younger siblings when his father and older stepbrothers are separated from the rest of the family, and he is surprised by what life in the camp reveals about a woman he barely knows—his frail, troubled mother.

Amidst starvation, brutality, sacrifice and generosity, Jeremiah draws on all of his courage and cunning to fill in the gap for his mother. Life in the camps is made more tolerable as Jeremiah’s boyhood infatuation with his close friend Laura deepens into a friendship from which they both draw strength.

When the darkest sides of humanity threaten to overwhelm Jeremiah and Laura, they reach for God’s light and grace, shining through his people. Time and war will test their fortitude and the only thing that will bring them safely to the other side is the most enduring bond of all.

 

My Review:

Well, I had mixed feelings going into this, as I actually did coming out of it as well.
I’ve read one other book by this author and wasn’t impressed with it, but seeing good reviews of “Thief of Glory”, and it being WWII fiction (which I am a fan of), I was excited to give it a try. And I am glad I was able to read it, even though it didn’t become a favourite.
It was engaging, and fairly easy to read, though I wouldn’t recommend it for anyone under the age of at least 16 for some rather violent etc. themes.
For the book itself, I felt like it was kind of lacking in plot and ‘purpose’ – it acted like it was building up to something, but in the ending it didn’t “pop” like I was expecting.
Most of the book made sense, though some of it was a little confusing. It was well-researched, which is always appreciated. I just don’t think it was quite my type or style of book.
I will say that it gave a realistic glimpse into the harsh reality of life in concentration camps of that era. Most of it was very heart-wrenching, and very serious.
I don’t think the description accurately portrays this book – it suggest that it is mainly about romance and is very faith-filled, when I did not feel like it covered either of those topics much at all. I am fine without romance in books, but I was at least expecting it to be more about Jeremiah and Laura, which is primarily wasn’t. And I was expecting to find more Christianity in it than I did, so that was very disappointing. It mentioned the Bible and such, but never went into detail, and it most certainly was not the main or even side theme to this book.
Overall, this book wasn’t a favourite, but as I said, I was glad for the opportunity to read it.

Thank you Blogging for Books for sending me the complimentary book to read and review. All thoughts and opinions I have given are completely my own.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

One thought on “Blogging For Books Review: “Thief of Glory” by Sigmund Brouwer

  1. Thanks so much for the info and insight on this book. My kids and I read some of Brouwer’s books years ago when we were homeschooling. Thanks also for stopping by my blog and following. It’s nice to meet you!

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

