Posted in Book reviews, BookCrash, Books

BookCrash Book Review: “Rebekah’s Treasure” by Sylvia Bambola

Title: Rebekah’s Treasure
Author: Sylvia Bambola
Type: Biblical fiction
Number of pages: 315
Review copy source: BookCrash http://www.bookcrash.com/
My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Description:

Forced to flee war-torn Jerusalem in 70 A.D. Rebekah and her husband, Ethan, each take something of value: Rebekah, the cup of the Last Supper; Ethan, a copper scroll detailing the whereabouts of a vast Temple treasure. Ahead, separation and danger face them as each tries to survive. But it’s not only external forces that could keep them apart forever but internal ones as they struggle to discover where their true treasure lies.

http://www.amazon.com/Rebekahs-Treasure-Sylvia-Bambola/dp/0989970744/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1405118953&sr=1-1

My Review:

Going into this book, I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect. Some Biblical fiction is AMAZING (*ahem* Tessa Afshar’s books *ahem*) and some are not so good (I will refrain from naming those).
But I was happy to find that this one was a good one. I thought at first that maybe it would drag on and be really boring and hard to get through, but I found the story very interesting and one I really wanted to follow! It kept me interested right to the end.
It was a fairly easy book to read – I didn’t feel the need to rush through it or anything – it was just a calm, nice read. Which I appreciated. =)
The chapters were split in between the two main characters and written through their Point of View, which was good. I will say that sometimes it was hard to switch between the two, because the chapters were really long – you would start with reading from Rebekah’s story and then get fully involved and everything, and then you’d switch to Ethan’s – and you’d get a few pages in and finally be drawn completely in for a while, and then you switch again. I won’t say that it was necessarily a bad thing and something the author shouldn’t have done – because I don’t think that! I did like the fact that Rebekah and Ethan had their own parts of retelling. And it was kinda cool to find that the author did it that way, because that is kind of what I am doing with one of my stories – though I’m not labeling them chapters; just switching between the characters. Anyway! That was a bit of a bunny-trail!
The tale was very well written, and thoroughly enjoyable.
All in all I very much liked it, and would read it again!

Note: BookCrash provided me with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

