Posted in Blogging For Books, Books, God's Lessons, Reviews

Blogging For Books Review: “A Broken Kind of Beautiful” by Katie Ganshert

Title: A Broken Kind of Beautiful
Author: Katie Ganshert http://www.katieganshert.com
Type: Fiction
Source: Blogging for Books http://www.bloggingforbooks.org/
Number of pages: 312
My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Description:

Fashion is a fickle industry, a frightening fact for twenty-four-year-old model Ivy Clark. Ten years in and she’s learned a sacred truth — appearance is everything. Nobody cares about her broken past as long as she looks beautiful for the camera. This is the only life Ivy knows — so when it starts to unravel, she’ll do anything to hold on. Even if that means moving to the quaint island town of Greenbrier, South Carolina, to be the new face of her stepmother’s bridal wear line — an irony too rich for words, since Ivy is far from the pure bride in white

My Review:
I enjoyed this book a lot more that I thought I would. Truly.
Going into it, I expected it to be just your average Christian romance fiction. I was delighted to find myself mistaken!
This book was beautifully written. The main character, Ivy, is *so* flawed and broken despite her beautiful cover. The author handles and sculpted this difficult, but real, character just perfectly. In hard situations that threatened to break Ivy’s walls, she reacted in the way you’d see from some broken people. She was real – not “fluffified” (:)) and I appreciated that thoroughly.
The male main character was superb as well. You can’t help but fall in love with him. ;)
I really loved Marilyn, Sara, and Jordan, as well.
But yes, the story was fantastic. It all came together so nicely, and all worked together for a lovely ending. Though I do wish the ending could’ve gone on a bit longer. You know it’s a good book when you don’t want it to end. :)
I loved it. In all it’s brokenness, I loved it. Because I am rapidly learning to love the broken kind of beautiful. God sees us, His children, as beautiful creations – in all of our brokenness!
I love the message of Redemption – so amazing! I was in tears at multiple points and I have many spots tagged for further thought and remembrance.
Oh and I don’t always read the acknowledgements, but Katie Ganshert’s was very good!
I loved it all. Beautifully Broken!

One of my favourite quotes:
“God’s not in the business of pampering His children. He’s in the business of perfecting them.”
― Katie Ganshert, A Broken Kind of Beautiful

:)

Note: I received a free Advanced Readers Copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest and unbiased review, which I have provided.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

One thought on “Blogging For Books Review: “A Broken Kind of Beautiful” by Katie Ganshert

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

