Posted in Book reviews, Moody Book Review

Moody Book Review: “Abraham and Sarah” by Roberta Kells Dorr

Title: Abraham and Sarah
Author: Roberta Kells Dorr
Type: Fiction, Biblical
Number of pages: 265
Source: Moody Publishing Book Program http://mpnewsroom.com/
My rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Description:

Abraham and Sarah is a masterful historical drama from the moment that Abraham strides into the pagan temple to rescue Sarah. The couple set out in search of the blessings God had promised: abundant fertile land and descendents more plentiful than the stars.
But years of wandering bring the couple to Egypt where once again Abraham convinces Sarah
that as sister and brother surely they will pass safely through the territory. But
Pharaoh takes Sarah into his harem where she befriends Pharaoh’s daughter, Hagar.
Together the three are ordered to leave.
Years of barrenness have embittered Sarah and she hatches a plan: Hagar must become the vessel for the child God has promised. Ishmael is born to Hagar and so is jealousy born in Sarah’s heart. But God had a plan and He was right all along. This miracle unfolds with Historical authenticity leaving the reader with a better understanding of the ancient world and the life-changing faith of Abraham and Sarah.

My Review:

I was very excited to receive and read this book. And when I got it, I was even more excited because the new cover is gorgeous (this book is re-published from 1995), and I love Biblical fiction. However, I was sadly very disappointed upon reading it. I had read a review where someone said that the author took great liberties with this book, and I must agree. It is much more fiction, than Biblical. I also feel the story is a poor representation of Abraham and Sarah and many ways. To be honest, I had to set apart in my mind the fact that this book was about Abraham and Sarah (in other words, I chose to think of it as a work of fiction completely, not relating to Biblical accounts), because it taints the Biblical account for me. I do not believe Abraham or Sarah would have acted like the author presented in this book.
I think this book had good potential, but it wasn’t executed well. I felt that quite a bit of the information presented was inaccurate and definitely not factual.
However, I am not completely opposed to trying more of the author’s books in the future, as I have read one other of her books that I enjoyed.
And please keep in mind that even though this was not my favourite read, doesn’t mean it won’t be yours. I don’t want to point others away from it just because I did not care for it. One man’s least favourite, is another man’s favourite :)

I received “Abraham and Sarah” free from Moody Publishers for the purpose of this review.

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

