Posted in Random babblings

Defined

I believe it takes courage to have a blog. It takes self-confidence to spill out your heart on what we call online-journals. I don’t know that I have that courage or confidence. I keep to myself. A lot. I will write posts in an attempt to bear my heart and try to write a good post, but they never make it live. They stay unpublished in my drafts. And I fear they’ll stay there. Because when I re-read them, I think “Why would I post that? What would others think?”. I’ve read old posts that have been published and I think “Man, why, Raechel? Why were you so immature?”. I feel like giving myself one of these:

lol!!

{Image via Pinterest}

A big face-palm. But those are the posts that are real.  It’s the heart-bearing posts that I enjoy the most when I read other blogs.

Maybe it comes down to being afraid of what my posts will define me by. That my stupid posts will define me. That my words won’t be good enough. So I keep to what’s comfortable.  My journal hides most of my heart. I do have to write. But I write it in my journal, where it’s safe and sound. And I don’t think that is necessarily a bad thing. But I do want to write good blog-posts, that interest other people. Not just book reviews. Even though I do love books. :)

So, maybe this will begin a new journey for me here on this blog. Or maybe I will continue to hide away, only showing what I want to show. Either way, I am going to try. I want my blog to be enjoyable, not only to me, but to others. Maybe that is vain, but it’s the truth.  I want to have someone think of my blog like I do of my favourite blogs to read.

We can’t be perfect, and that’s okay. Our words don’t always have to define us.  How we live for God, that defines us.

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

3 thoughts on “Defined

  1. Ah Rae, I ken how you feel. I feel the same often. Sometimes I can’t even write things down in my journal because I don’t want it to be part of me. But there is something beautiful about a person who is open and honest about themselves. Blessings on your journey and may your strength and hope be found in Christ alone. Love Jazzy ~ A fellow traveler

    1. Thank you for such a sweet comment, Jazz! Yes, I’ve felt the same way before. But you are so right – there really is something beautiful about those who are open and honest. Thank you Jazz! :)

  2. I know how you feel……I very rarely write anything like that on my blog. I would love to read whatever you feel like posting because you are such a beautiful person.

    ~*Chantelle*~

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

